Life Goes On

Not Okay!
Friday, Jul. 08, 2005 - 7:14 p.m.
I was helping one of David's teachers up at the school today and she admired my new jeans. I told her I got them from "fat Katies" which is a store that stocks larger sizes from the Katies boutiques.

She then said to me "Well you know, you shouldn't be fat. You would actually be pretty if you lost the weight."

W.T.F? I could not believe she said it! The only person on this earth who has the right to discuss my weight is my Mother and I don't listen to her anyway. What surprised me more is that I didn't say anything I just kept helping her with the computer.

If she ever mentions it again I will have to say something but in the interests of "not making a scene" lets just hope that she doesn't.

t.

They told me it would make me go blind but I didn't listen
Tuesday, Jul. 05, 2005 - 4:49 p.m.
Went to the optometrist today and he told me I have Keratoconus which is a thinning of the central zone of the cornea which affects about 1 in 3000 people. 15% of cases require cornea grafts but prior to that night vision may be lost and also the ability to drive safely even during the day. David's vision is fine which is good news as it can be hereditary. The optometrist has given me a new prescription which I will get soon.

The good news was that the optometrist was lovely! Friendly, funny, decent looking and no wedding ring! How nice to spend even half an hour with an intelligent, interesting guy.

Today was my first half day of freedom! School went back today and David had a half day being Tuesday so I at least had time to go have a coffee and relax for the morning. Days left before returning to Uni are limited however my new timetable puts me at Uni Mondays 1pm to 7pm and that's it ... no other days ... so I will at least have some time off during the week - until assignments are due anyway.

t.

Blog that Holiday
Friday, Jul. 01, 2005 - 4:42 p.m.
My parents left today for their six month trip around the world. I have created a blog for them which they will update when they're in civilisation.

In sad news, I have lost my mobile. It might still turn up ... let's hope.

t.

I'm Addicted!
Sunday, Jun. 26, 2005 - 6:27 p.m.
I have Ms-Do to thank for my latest addiction! She warned me but I did not heed it.

After spending 6 hours at Laser Force with five hyperactive boys I got home at one am, put the child to bed and then didn't feel like studying but couldn't sleep so I started reading "One for the Money" by Janet Evanovich. Apparently there are about 11 books in the series and Ms-Do warned me that they were addictive! I was determined not to start them until my last exam was finished on Tuesday but I didn't and now, as warned, I can't put it down!

I have set up a blog for my parents trip around the globe. I don't know if they will use it; Mum is against the idea because she thinks it's gloating. The idea that you don't have to send the link to anyone didn't occur to her, I just thought it would be nice for them to have a diary of their trip. I have set it up that they don't even need to know how to update the blog - they just send an email to the blog address and it uploads it for them! We'll see what happens ...

Another opportunity arose today to talk to parents about how to assist their daughter in leaving a violent marriage. I've mentioned it before, but I feel as though I'm meant to help parents in this situation. They are my neighbours and their daughter is in her 30's and on her second attempt to leave her husband. I gave them all the advice I could and they appreciated it. They asked if I would talk to their daughter and of course I said yes. There are many services available in Australia for victims of domestic violence but there is no information for parents on how to deal with it. I know what my parents went through and I know, as a survivor, what worked and what didn't.

One more exam to go and then I'm done!

t.