Life Goes On

Stupid + Brilliant = Power
Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2005 - 6:57 a.m.
"Computers are incredibly fast, accurate and stupid; humans are incredibly slow, inaccurate and brilliant; together they are powerful beyond imagination." -- Albert Einstein

t.

* yawn * Back Again
Monday, Feb. 28, 2005 - 7:23 p.m.
Back at Uni today for Information Management, one of three units this semester. It feels very second nature now, there were no nerves, just boredom and tedium. I just look at my 13 week program and think "FFS when is this stupid degree going to be finished?!"

I've formed a group for the tutorial and assignment work. They seem like a motivated bunch ... except that one female doesn't use IM and doesn't have the internet at home. * rolls eyes * Did you think this was a degree in Thai Cooking? Groups are optional and I swear that I hate them but historically I have done better in subjects with group work so I will persevere. That's not to say that I mooch off others - I actually get more motivated and do much better work when I have other people to satisfy.

t.

Ageism at it's Finest
Sunday, Feb. 27, 2005 - 3:35 p.m.
Last night I had a friend come over while I fixed his PC. He brought chocolate biscuits so we sat up all night (until 4am) listening to music and fixing the computer. It actually went well and he left very happy with PC under arm at dawn.

At around 1.30am, my neighbour Craig came to the door and asked us to stop making so much noise. I asked him what noise he was referring to and he replied "the TV and the laughter". I didn't respond and made no effort to contain either.

The last time he complained about my level of noise was back in September when I was watching a movie with T. That was six months ago! Since then, I've had to deal with a whole heap of shit from him, including:
* a visitor of his urinating on my front step;
* his two year old nephews screaming and running around on his polished floor boards;
* his boarder knocking on my door at 1am wanting 'some company';
* his work colleague abusing me when I rang the work mobile one day to tell Craig that someone was trying to break into his house;
* same work colleague making rude comments about my weight whilst I'm standing at my front door fumbling with my keys;
* debt collectors ringing MY home number looking for his boarder who thought giving my flat number was a good way of avoiding repossession; and
* his unregistered car sitting unmoved for 12 months in one of two unallocated car spaces out the front, resulting in us having to fight over the remaining spot.

When he left for work at 4am we were still up and he said, "You know I could have called the Police on you!". I chose not to respond, realising that he was not in a rational mood, however I would like him to see the lunacy of this statement. Who are the Police going to be more sympathic towards? * bats her eyelashes * A 30-something, struggling widow with a disabled child? Or a 20-something skinhead drug addict? "Oh Officer! There's always smoke coming from his house and it smells all sweet and people drop in at all hours of the night and they never stay long."

Yes Craig. Call the Police.

t.

Birthday Boy!
Saturday, Feb. 26, 2005 - 6:37 p.m.

Happy Birthday David!!

Last night after David went to bed, I put up a banner and some balloons for when he woke up. I wrapped his presents and put them on the couch.

It has been a good day for him I think. He's really enjoyed the Nintendo Gameboy DS that Mum bought him and the game to go with it that I bought him. We've spent the day at home hanging out together and he said before that it's the best birthday he's had because we didn't spend it with "relatives I don't know that I have to hug and kiss all the time".

This afternoon I realised that I have far too many vegetables considering my co-op box is due on Wednesday! So I went through them and I now have a large pot of vegetable soup cooking plus I used oodles of carrots, mushrooms, garlic and onions in the meatballs and sauce that we had for dinner.

The kitchen is clean, the child is fed, the clothes are washed. All that's needed now is a shower and a friend's computer to be fixed.

t.

Ego Gets a Boost
Thursday, Feb. 24, 2005 - 10:39 p.m.
Last night my phone beeped at 1.00am. Usually I turn it onto silent when I'm asleep, leaving it on only so that the alarm will wake me in time for my walk.

For some reason I didn't turn it to silent last night and the message beeps woke me up. It was from D. "I'm in Melb. I miss you and wish you were here." Considering Melbourne is on daylight saving that means it was 2am there! I texted back something naughty finishing with "you can call me if you like".

The phone rang immediately. He was a little drunk, a little tired, a little lonely. I incorrectly assumed he was horny and just wanted dirty talk but instead he told me all the sweet stuff that he doesn't normally reveal in his "I don't need anyone I'm never vulnerable" state.

He is always so self-controlled, organised, efficient, self-assured. I guess being the owner of a very successful company requires him to constantly give this air of being in control and breeds a superiority complex. He has always communicated in a business manner - listens, paraphrases, manipulates the situation and conversation to meet his own end. Last night, however, he was at his most normal. Obviously a little drunk but for the first time a real, imperfect, vulnerable person who shared some of his unbusiness-like thoughts with me. Then today he sent me text messages between meetings and told me when he was coming back to Brisbane.

Now before you all send me notes (or hit me over the head on our walk tomorrow) I'm not reading anything else into this! We are just fuck buddies! I promise! I'm not getting all silly over this. BUT ... it is nice to be appreciated and thought of even when he's not in my bedroom. With his power and money and decent looks D could have any woman he wants (and probably does have others) but he was thinking about ME last night and today and that feels good. It means that I at least have something more than the other women in his life.

t.