Life Goes On

Protein Schmotein
Monday, Dec. 06, 2004 - 6:50 a.m.
I just realised something else that annoys me - my Mother giving dieting advice. She is a fat woman - larger than me even - yet she has a constant stream of "dieting tips that really work". She believes herself to be a bit of an authority on losing weight. Her latest craze is an Atkins-hybrid diet which involves eating nothing but protein until 6pm and then a normal meal for the evening meal. I tried it a few months back and was so lethargic I just slept all day.

So my parents were here a few weeks back and Mum noticed I had lost a bit of weight from walking. Then I was on the phone to her last night and mentioned that I was making fruit salad for breakfast. "No, No" she cried in horror, "Nothing but protein until 6pm!" Does she not remember I dropped that stupid idea a week after I started?

My Mother giving dieting advice is like George Dubya giving seminars on World Peace.

Yay Christmas. I can't wait.

t.

Results Are Out!
Sunday, Dec. 05, 2004 - 10:56 p.m.
Uni results are out!

ITB222 BUSINESS SYSTEMS ANALYSIS - 4 (62%)
ITB227 WEB APPLICATIONS - 5 (69%)
ITB228 ENTERPRISE SYSTEMS - 5 (69%)

A 4 is a pass and 7 is the highest you can get. I am really happy with these. Considering I failed 3 out of 4 subjects last semester this is a great improvement. Add to that the one subject which I hated (Web Applications) plus the one exam during which I had the incident and I'm thrilled with these results.

Doing my project now over Summer means only 7 subjects left out of a 24 subject degree! The end is in sight.

t.

Lemonade from Lemons
Friday, Dec. 03, 2004 - 4:39 p.m.
So as most of you know, my son has autism. It's high functioning so it's not very noticeable to people generally - it's only when you spend time with him or look after him that you notice the odd things he does.

Regardless of his "ability", his autism does bring challenges to my daily life. Our welfare system recognises this and pays me a little extra each fortnight to cater for it. The Education Department also gives funding to his school to assist with his learning.

I maximise my opportunities and yes, sometimes I use his autism when it doesn't really apply. This happened the other day.

David's TV blew up. It was under warranty so I took it to the repair centre. There was a sign on the counter saying "Due to the Christmas rush TV repairs have a 7 day turnaround." I knew that David didn't want to do without his TV for that long so I whispered in his ear, asking permission to mention his autism to see if I could get it done quicker. He agreed. I told the lady behind the counter that my son had autism and he needed his TV because the noise in his room calmed him down. This is actually not that far from the truth - he is most settled when on his computer with the TV on in the background. Since his TV has been broken he has not spent time in his room and has been less settled.

Anyway, the lady came back with my receipt looking very pleased with herself. She said to me "I've marked it URGENT REPAIR". I thanked her and handed the slip to David. He read the bottom and then said in a horrified voice: "Urgent Repair because child is HANDICAPPED?? I'm not handicapped! I'm smarter than most kids!" He was so offended. I, unfortunately, burst out laughing and hurried him out the door. He was not amused that I spent the drive home calling him "my little handicapped child".

Well, it worked. I picked the TV up today on a three day turnaround.

In other "handicapped child" news, I received free tickets today to a circus that is coming to town. It is sponsored by a local charity for children with special needs. Sometimes there are benefits to having an autistic child.

t.

Drive Through Memory Lane
Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 - 7:10 p.m.
I drove across town today. Brisbane is a large city in area and is divided into two main areas - North and South - separated by the Brisbane River. When I was with Wayne, we lived mainly on the North Side. When I left, I found a place on the South Side so that it would take him longer to find me. It took him four months.

So I drove over to the North Side of Brisbane today to have lunch with a business associate. There were SO many memories.

The street where we lived when we first moved to Brisbane.
The location of his first job.
The location of his fifth job.
The street he drove down when he tricked me into the car and screamed at David that he was going to kill me.
The women's refuge where I stayed for 12 weeks.
The shopping centre where we bought our first 68cm TV.
The hospital where he went after his drug overdose.
The caryard where we bought our fourth car.
My old work, where he would stay out the front ALL DAY watching who I talked to and insisted on having lunch with me everyday.
The caravan park we moved to after he assaulted the neighbour so badly we were both charged with assault causing grievous bodily harm.
The Police Station where he was issued with the Domestic Violence Order.
The bus stop I would get off at around midnight on Thursdays after working three jobs in a row.

Suffice to say, it was a tough drive. I avoid that strip of road whenever I can.

t.

Jail Bird
Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 - 7:05 p.m.
I remembered today that a friend of Wayne's doesn't know that he died a year ago. Alan is in jail - the last time I saw him David was less than 6 months old so that's 10 years. As far as I know he is still in jail with expected release in 2006.

I am going to ring the jail tomorrow and see if I can get a message to him. I doubt they will give him such a message so I may have to visit. The jail is in Brisbane and as far as I know visiting days are Wednesdays and Saturdays so I won't have to take David with me.

Conjugal visits are included in the no-sex-until-the-end-of-the-year policy. Tomorrow is December! Only 31 days to go...

t.

Pondering the Consequences
Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 - 6:54 a.m.
Ms-Do is evil personified! No, not really, but she has offered me her webcam to assist my self-imposed celibacy until the end of the year.

I have never owned a webcam simply because I know I would become a complete webcam slut! There are enough compromising pictures of me on the internet and hard drives around the world without letting guys screen capture me in the middle of play. But I guess, if I didn't OWN it but just borrowed it from Ms-Do for a couple of weeks then I could beg her to take it back when I'm totally out of control!

t.

Enchanting Evening
Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 10:36 p.m.
A few weeks ago I won tickets to see Ella Enchanted. We went tonight - had McDonalds in the mall and then went into the cinema - we changed seats once.

Before the movie it was announced that someone had a sticker under the chair. It was under David's! He was so excited - won a prize pack including 3 t-shirts, water bottle, two hats etc. Our expectations for the night were fairly low but we ended up having a great time and we didn't get lost once.

t.

Settles in for the long haul
Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 4:21 p.m.
* phone rings *
David: I'll get it!
David to phone: Hello?
* pause *
David: Yes, this is her house.
* pause *
David: Well before I let you speak to her, I need to know who it is.
* pause *
David: Roy who?
* pause *
David: Oh .. Uncle Roy! In that case you can speak to her.
* hands me the phone *

... and my singledom looks set to continue. It will take a determined man to survive the interrogation of my 10 year old.

t.