Life Goes On

For I am Young and Free
Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004 - 10:44 p.m.
Another busy day for someone supposedly on holidays. I had dinner with my parents at New Farm which is on the Brisbane River. The apartment they are staying in overlooks the river and is just beautiful. Three bedrooms with a pool, spa and tennis court in the complex. David went down for a swim while Mum and I heated dinner.

They had a friend of theirs from Africa - picked him up from the airport Friday morning. It truly reminds me how lucky I am to be in Australia when I meet people that are still stuck in that godforsaken hell hole. He is a Deputy Principal at one of the best schools in the country yet his salary is equivalent to Australian $200 per week ... and he has 30 years teaching experience! That's appalling - I make nearly twice that on welfare. The problem is that he has no way of getting out. He is too old for most countries (including Australia) to regard him as a useful asset and he can't go to his children because they're also in the middle of trying to find somewhere to settle (atm looking to New Zealand.)

We arrived in Australia in 1985 thanks to the wisdom, perserverence, foresight and qualifications of my Dad. He knew that things would never improve in Zimbabwe and that's why he fought so hard to get us into Australia way back when it was still possible.

t.

Nothing Interesting
Thursday, Nov. 25, 2004 - 10:30 p.m.
Well so much for being on holidays! I've had something on every day this week - movies, lunch, workshops and today I went to work with a meeting with LWS for Stage 1 of the database. They love me! Tomorrow I have a meeting at Uni and next week I already have two activities booked so I'm a busy girl.

Two people at LWS commented that I had lost weight which was great. Walking has become routine - I don't even think about it when I roll out of bed at 5.15am - it really only hits me when I'm on the home stretch and every cell is screaming "oxygen overdose!".

Results come out 6 December. Whilst I'm curious I don't have any doubts that I've passed everything. Doing three subjects a semester made such a difference and I will continue with that. Of course I want to finish my degree but I'm not going to stress about finishing it quickly. This time of my life is a gift; I'm going to enjoy every second of it.

t.

Stalked
Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2004 - 11:46 a.m.
The fucking magpie found me again! He has hunted me down and worked out my new walking route. Not happy. He attacked me this morning at least 200 metres from where he was last seen. There was another girl walking on the magpie's side of the road but he SINGLED me out! How much further from my destination do I have to detour to avoid this menace?

t.

End 2004 Celibacy
Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2004 - 7:51 a.m.

I am giving up sex for the rest of 2004!

Now that you've all stopped laughing, I'll tell you that I'm serious!

I want sex to be fun.
I want sex to be unexpected.
I want sex without expectations.
I want sex to one of a number of activities I do with ONE person, not the one activity I do with a number of people.

End of 2004 is only 38 days, I realise this, but remember I'm used to having sex between 2 and 10 times a week so this is significant.

This self-imposed celibacy does not include masturbation, phone sex or cyber sex.

I just hope I'm invited to a New Years Eve Party with at least one single male. May God have mercy on his soul.

t.

Wish List
Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 - 9:56 a.m.
Kuinip by sms: I'm at Carindale. Do you need anything?
Me by return sms: A decent man, plastic surgery and my degree.

t.

Protected Species Laughs Last
Friday, Nov. 19, 2004 - 1:27 p.m.
The only black cloud in my newfound walking routine is the fact that there is a FUCKING MAGPIE in my street. For the uninitiated, these are black and white birds (a bit like crows) which swoop and attack people usually during nesting season. This bastard lives halfway up my street. Everytime I walk past, he swoops down and attempts to peck at the top of my head. My brother offered a solution - draw two eyes on the top of an icecream container and put that on your head.

Um... I don't think so. I am a single, sexy female and the Mother of a child at a nearby school. I do not want David to be known as "the son of the woman with the icecream container on her head" nor do I wish potential suitors to think "hey she's cute ... shame about the hat".

I would like nothing more than to swat it with a tennis racquet but apart from the horrible idea of hurting a living creature, plus the fact I don't own a tennis racquet, plus I would have to carry said racquet for the remainder of my walk, lastly magpies are protected species. You are not allowed to harm them in anyway else face the wrath of National Parks.

One walking morning I thought the solution was to drive my car to the top of the street and walk from there. This did not work. I was so bleary eyed that I nearly crashed the car on the way up. Then, when I returned, the nearby building site was full of sexy guys who thought I was MAD because I drove less than 100 metres.

Plan B: I now take an alternative route around the street and that is proving satisfactory. No more swooping attacks, no more embarrassing scenes and definately no icecream containers.

I guess the lesson is, if you can't change your situation, change your direction.

t.