Life Goes On

:)
2003-12-03 - 7:18 p.m.

Jack Worthing: I am sick to death of cleverness. Everybody is clever nowadays. You can't go anywhere without meeting clever people. The thing has become an absolute public nuisance. I wish to goodness we still had a few fools left.

Algernon Moncrieff: We have.

Jack Worthing: I should extremely like to meet them. What do they talk about?

Algernon Moncrieff: The fools? Oh, about the clever people, of course.

Jack Worthing: What fools!

Fair Call
2003-12-02 - 2:33 p.m.

"First, I am not advocating being single, but I am saying that diversity in relationships is no bad thing.

Secondly, two out of three marriages are failing, I would argue, because we place an unrealistic emphasis on the transformative power of love.

We've become smitten with the idea that having a partner somehow makes you a more acceptable human being, ensures happiness, solves difficulties, absolves you from a duty to look after yourself.

Romance has become quite the opiate of our times. Fairytale romance which doesn't require effort or sacrifice or disappointment. Most people want to buy into that kind of magic.

So they panic and persuade themselves they've fallen in love when they haven't at all. Or they move into a relationship and accept behaviour which they otherwise wouldn't tolerate. Isn't it perhaps time that some of us said 'Enough?'"

-- Yvonne Roberts in 'The Trouble With Single Women'

I have my own postcode
2003-12-01 - 11:26 p.m.


You're Japan!

You tried to beat everyone around you physically, and when that didn't work, you turned to mental arts. Not only is this more acceptable to those people, but you're really good at mental arts. Somehow you're able to fit a great deal of industry into small spaces, and this has generated a lot of income for you. Now if you could just stop eating whale meat, you'd be making real progress.
Take the Country Quiz at the Blue Pyramid

Semester results confirm dream realisation
2003-11-30 - 11:02 p.m.
2003/2

ITB112 SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT 2 [3] 50%

ITB114 INTRO TO NETWRK TECH [4] 57%

ITB117 IT PROFESSIONAL STUDIES 2 [5] 72%

ITB118 SYSTEMS LIFE CYCLE [5] 74%

IT21 Course GPA: 4.25

So those are my semester results. All in all the main thing is that I PASSED!!!!! WOOOT!!!! Considering everything I juggle (housework, cooking, child, court) I think I did alright.

Everyone I've spoken to so far (about 6 students) have all got 3 for SD2 so that's comforting. Main thing is I don't have to repeat it.

I missed out on a 6 for ITB118 by 1%. I'm considering getting my exam remarked to see if I can make up that mark. I really put a lot of work into that subject and if ever I'm going to get a 6 I thought it would be for that.

1 year and 8 units down. 2 years and 16 units to go.

Amazing to finally see my dream becoming a reality.

t.

Groening is a genius
2003-11-30 - 4:32 p.m.
In response to my Mother's comment below...

"Mom, romance is dead. It was acquired in a hostile takeover by Hallmark and Disney, homogenized, and sold off piece by piece." -- Lisa Simpson

Day-Before-Results-Optimism
2003-11-30 - 4:16 p.m.
So anyway I said to Mum.. "I'm thinking of only coming up around 24 December". The logic behind this is only needing to tolerate the family for the shortest possible time being that Christmas sucks and all. Her response? "Oh are you in love?" *grrrrrrr*

Haven't been online for a couple of days which has been great. Now that I'm on prepaid and not monthly I don't feel the same need to use up my hours and/or downloads.

Decided to close the msn group. I haven't used it for ages so I'll just post the important things here and delete the rest. No point taking up more space on the internet than I need. ;)

Have decided to make some bookmarks/magnets using David's Art as Christmas presents. This, of course, requires me to be creative. *shudder*

The people across the road from me always have these great parties! They have a verandah which faces my place and I often see and hear them there when they have people around. What a great way to spend a Sunday. One day I would like to have a verandah/balcony where I can entertain friends.

That's it... my life is wonderfully boring at the moment.

RESULTS COME OUT TOMORROW!! EEP.

t.

Birth Month Summary
2003-11-26 - 10:55 p.m.
Go here and find your birth month... then cross out what DOESN�T apply to you.

JULY: Fun to be with. Secretive. Difficult to fathom and to be understood. Quiet unless excited or tensed. Takes pride in oneself. Has reputation. Easily consoled. Honest. Concerned about people's feelings. Tactful. Friendly. Approachable. Emotional temperamental and unpredictable. Moody and easily hurt. Witty and sparkly. Not revengeful. Forgiving but never forgets. Dislikes nonsensical and unnecessary things. Guides others physically and mentally. Sensitive and forms impressions carefully. Caring and loving. Treats others equally. Strong sense of sympathy. Wary and sharp. Judges people through observations. Hardworking. No difficulties in studying. Loves to be alone. Always broods about the past and the old friends. Likes to be quiet. Homely person. Waits for friends. Never looks for friends. Not aggressive unless provoked. Prone to having stomach and dieting problems (LOL). Loves to be loved. Easily hurt but takes long to recover.

t.
For Sale: 1 sense of humour
2003-11-26 - 9:57 p.m.
<_Nerddette> so is Lits short for anything?

<_Lits> my last name

<_Lits> litschner

<_Nerddette> oh ok

<_Nerddette> cool

<_Nerddette> so "schner" was taken?

<_Lits> lits is better

Boring Holiday Update
2003-11-26 - 7:51 p.m.

Hi lambrini!!

I got my first diary note today! How exciting! *waves to lambrini*

I have taken to reading other diarylands and it's great. Far more interesting than chat rooms or making idle, meaningless conversation with welfare mums at the school (this statement excludes all those cool people reading my diary ;)).

I spoke to Mum today and it looks like they will build the cottage in Toowoomba. I don't know how I feel about it. On one hand I love their current house for it's age and size but for other reasons I wish I could burn it to the ground (think Jenny). So now they will build the cottage next door and then sell the house. I always believed that I would one day inherit the house or buy it off them but that's not going to happen now :(

Went for a job interview today - don't want the job though. Too much night work and one day every weekend. The pay rate is fucked as well - I make twice that teaching.

Glennjamin is still waiting to hear whether or not they got their unit. I hope they do! *recrosses toes*

Oh yeah.. and I sorted fruit and veges which is always a fascinating experience.

t.