Life Goes On

Ahhhh .. Marriage.
Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006 - 10:32 p.m.

How's this for a marriage contract? :)

Although he does state on page 4 - "This is not a contract but a set of rules for you". How nice of him.

t.

1.1.1.1.
Friday, Feb. 17, 2006 - 3:59 a.m.

Thanks cAt! I already knew I was a 1 but this is a nice summary. :)

The Perfectionist

You chose CZ - your Enneagram type is ONE.

"I do everything the right way"


Perfectionists are realistic, conscientious, and principled. They strive to live up to their high ideals.

How to Get Along with Me

  • Take your share of the responsibility so I don't end up with all the work.
  • Acknowledge my achievements.
  • I'm hard on myself. Reassure me that I'm fine the way I am.
  • Tell me that you value my advice.
  • Be fair and considerate, as I am.
  • Apologize if you have been unthoughtful. It will help me to forgive.
  • Gently encourage me to lighten up and to laugh at myself when I get uptight, but hear my worries first.
What I Like About Being a One
  • Being self-disciplined and able to accomplish a great deal.
  • Working hard to make the world a better place.
  • Having high standards and ethics; not compromising myself.
  • Being reasonable, responsible, and dedicated in everything I do.
  • Being able to put facts together, coming to good understandings, and figuring out wise solutions.
  • Being the best I can be and bringing out the best in other people.
What's Hard About Being a One
  • Being disappointed with myself or others when my expectations are not met.
  • Feeling burdened by too much responsibility.
  • Thinking that what I do is never good enough.
  • Not being appreciated for what I do for people.
  • Being upset because others aren't trying as hard as I am.
  • Obsessing about what I did or what I should do.
  • Being tense, anxious, and taking things too seriously.
Ones as Children Often:
  • criticize themselves in anticipation of criticism from others;
  • refrain from doing things that they think might not come out perfect;
  • focus on living up to the expectations of their parents and teachers;
  • are very responsible - may assume the role of parent;
  • hold back negative emotions ("good children aren't angry").
Ones as Parents:
  • Teach their children responsibility and strong moral values.
  • Are consistent and fair.
  • Discipline firmly.

Link: The Quick and Painless ENNEAGRAM Test written by felk on Ok Cupid.

t.

Etc.
Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006 - 8:43 p.m.

I took myself to the movies today. After a latte and toast at a local coffee shop I saw the morning session of "Walk the Line". I didn't know much about the life of Johnny Cash and had not yet appreciated the work of Joaquin Phoenix.

After about half an hour of watching the movie I started crying, almost sobbing. I can't remember which song of Cash's was on, but it reminded me of Wayne. He loved Johnny Cash - had a tape of his music that he played in the car. I visualised him being excited about seeing a movie about the life of Johnny Cash.

I got some Kit Kat bites and a frozen slurpee. The chocolate was melting so I dropped them in the slurpee and ate them cold and frozen. I should have worn a sleeved shirt as I was a little cold; completely unrelated to sucking on a large slurpee of course. I felt completely responsible-less - which is different from irresponsible (and not just because it's not even a real word). It was just me - not someone's mother/daughter/sister/friend.

The $700+ from Public Trust has come, cleared and gone but I am completely debt free for at least a fortnight. I bought David a Playstation 2 Slimline pack for his birthday next week.

I have training at Uni tomorrow. I am doing first year orientations next week for the third year in a row but for some reason they think it's necessary to pay everyone AGAIN for training.

My only mandatory textbook this semester will be $82.95. There are $400+ worth of recommended books as well. :) I have $40.00 in book vouchers accumulated from assisting with research, committees and focus groups. My parking will be about $90.00 and we STILL have to pay $121.00 Student Union fees. The VSU (Voluntary Student Unionism) only applies from Semester 2 onwards. :(

t.

History Lesson
Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006 - 8:11 p.m.
Year 1981
1. Prince Charles got married
2. Liverpool crowned Champions of Europe
3. Australia lost the Ashes
4. Pope Died

Year 2005
1. Prince Charles got married (again)
2. Liverpool crowned Champions of Europe (again)
3. Australia lost the Ashes (again)
4. Pope Died (again)

In future, if Prince Charles decides to re-marry, will someone please warn the Pope and cancel the cricket.

t.

*giggles*
Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006 - 6:34 a.m.

t.

Two Years in the Making
Monday, Feb. 13, 2006 - 12:56 p.m.

Friday just gone I made my final payment of $30.00 to Department of Roads for speeding fines that Wayne incurred when driving my car before I left him. It was a total of $1,160.00 - I started paying it back at $30.00 a fortnight and just finished. I tried for ages to explain to them that I wasn't driving the car at the time but without him admitting it and signing a stat dec the onus lay with me to pay it. When he died they told me I couldn't "blame my debts on a deceased person". :D

That extra money will be glorious to have ... not because of the amount which is quite small but just because it represents the last and final debt that I will ever have to pay for him.

t.

My Week's Top 5
Monday, Feb. 13, 2006 - 8:01 a.m.

Last week was actually pretty busy, for me anyway. I didn't end up blogging any of it because I have information overload in my head but now I think I've sorted through a found the top 5 highlights.

5. I won't give graphic details *grin* but i went to an adult theatre last week! I've been playing with this guy who was flying out to the USA on Saturday so on Friday (3rd Feb) we went into Brisbane City and spend a couple of hours in an adult cinema. It was hoot! With a Starbucks and Subway chaser, I had a great day!

4. Next, a really embarrassing moment. If you know my story about the impulsive trip to the hospital well this isn't in that league but it was still blush worthy. On Saturday I was 'buzzed' and had a terrible case of the munchies. I went to the 7-11 for slurpees and other fodder. When I arrived, I noticed a sign advertising car washes and when I pulled up a guy came over asking if I would like one; it was to support the homeless. I explained I didn't have time; then he offered me some chocolate bars for sale which I said I was happy to buy and would do so on the way out. I went into the 7-11, poured two super slurpees, grabbed a donut and my eyes scanned the shelves for something else munchie worthy. I noticed a tupperware container on the counter with yummy looking sandwiches in it. I opened the lid and started pawing through them, thinking how yummy they all looked. I asked the attendant how much they were and he replied, "Actually they're not for sale. They are the lunches of the people working on the Homeless Car Wash". I bought three overpriced chocolate bars to repent my sins.

3. I had lunch with an ex-boyfriend Greg on Wednesday. He was affected by Hurricane Wayne - stalked, abused, threatened etc. A lot of time has passed (three years or so?) ... he is dating again and time has healed some of the wounds. He took me to Sizzler - a real treat for me. I ordered Rib Eye Steak. The waitress came past our table just as I put the first piece in my mouth. She asked how the meals were and I was head back, 'Harry met Sally' style, moaning in my seat because the steak was so good! Greg just said "I think she's enjoying it."

2. I spent Friday baking cookies with Liz! We made around 200 gluten free cookies. David had a fabulous time, with his little apron on, rolling them into balls.

The cookie day was a big success - I have cookies in the freezer, in the canisters and in the cupboard. My favourites are the peanut ones and the coconut ones. David loves the sprinkles and u-dones. Thanks Liz!

1. On Tuesday, I picked up cAt and went over to Liz's to plan the cookie day. This was the first time cAt and I had met but it felt like we had been friends for years. We got completely lost (all my fault) and I eventually handed the street directory to cAt. She was very patient with me - she would find the street only to hear that I had already turned onto another street! When I spoke to Liz later she was surprised to hear that cAt and I had met for the first time that day. Some people come into your life for a reason and I believe cAt is one of those. The fun will be discovering what it is. :)

t.

Killing the Cat
Sunday, Feb. 12, 2006 - 5:44 p.m.
Easy to do, no pop ups or email signup.

My Johari Window.

t.

My Sins
Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006 - 11:07 p.m.
Greed:Very Low
 
Gluttony:Medium
 
Wrath:Low
 
Sloth:Medium
 
Envy:Very Low
 
Lust:Very High
 
Pride:Low
 


Take the Seven Deadly Sins Quiz

Surprise. Surprise.

t.

Daddy is a Trooper
Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006 - 1:48 a.m.

In a September entry I mentioned John Edmond who sings songs about the Rhodesian War of Independence.

I have been listening to them tonight. After 20 years I still remember the words. I couldn't have sang more than 2 songs for you yesterday, but within a few bars of music listening to these CDs the words come flowing back. They remind me of riding in convoy to go to South Africa. Many cars would meet at a checkpoint, maybe 50 or so? There were at least three armoured vehicles with soldiers and big machine guns mounted on the back. The children had to stay in the car while the parents were briefed on procedure. We were never allowed to listen - maybe it would be too gruesome to hear what would happen if we were attacked. What is the procedure when cars full of women and children is set upon by a large terrorist group, running on foot with guns? Cars would then travel in convoy, single file, with the armoured vehicles front, back and scattered between the cars. We would travel like that for some hundreds of kilometres until we reached the border.

Why would you do that? Because the risk of the convoy was worth the couple of weeks away from the death, heartache, terrorist drills, bomb threats, rifles, phone calls and prayers.

Every song I listen to on this CD floods memories and I want to write all the lyrics out for you because they're all amazing! But here is one which talks about war through the generations in Rhodesia and how each male member of the family would go to war and the mother would sing this song to the kids before they went to bed.

"Daddy is a Trooper
He's many miles away
Go to sleep
and don't you weep
while mother kneels to pray

Daddy is a Trooper
oh Lord be with him now
shine your light on him tonight
and keep him safe somehow"
-- John Edmond

My Father fought in the war three times every year - school holidays - for 15 years. That's 45 tours. He was in a profession (teaching) which exempted him from going in. I once asked him why he would go in when he didn't have to. He said to me "Tertia, as a teacher I could not sit at home knowing that the boys I taught last year are out there fighting without me."

I said in my last entry about these songs. They reminded me of a time which is slowly fading.

My life is Rhodesia feels like a book I read a long time ago.

t.