Life Goes On

Money In, Money Out
Friday, Apr. 15, 2005 - 11:39 p.m.
Well I guess it serves me right. I've been chatting to this guy from online for a week or two; he gave me his mobile number during an msn conversation today. I uploaded some of my 'personal collection' of photos to my phone and happily sent off three of them. When he came back online tonight I asked if he liked the photos. What photos he remarked? I checked the phone number ... wrong number!! Some un/lucky person received some interesting pics this afternoon.

I think my electricity bill has been calculated wrong. When I calculate the usage according to their tariffs I'm short $6.05! I'm ringing them on Monday and demanding they tell me which of their sneaky charges has sucked up my money! :)

Spending money is hard work! We went on another shopping spree today - bought a game and a new dustbin (the fun never ends!) but then I had to cart them out to the car, and then cart them into the house, and unpack all my nice new things. I'm just giving myself something to remember when I can no longer afford to have shopping sprees - like next week for instance.

t.

Fight the Good Fight
Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005 - 11:32 p.m.
Another day, another death benefit cheque! It cleared today, just over $1,500 so we went to Ikea and bought some stuff for David's room. Life is so much easier when there's a little spare money to go around.

Uni is going well - my VB.Net subject is sinking in the second time around and I'm speaking the lingo to the lecturer detecting just a hint of a smile instead of the horrified deer look I usually get. This is good news.

David is having more problems at school - I'm back up there tomorrow to fight the good fight and ask them for an ounce of compassion and a pound of embracing diversity. I get so fired up about it - hopefully I can contain some of that tomorrow otherwise I'll end up with no school for him. I have explored other options - there is a school up the road with a Special Education Unit - they teach life skills and have a door-to-door bus service. David has agreed to consider it if the worst happens and he gets expelled. Thing is, as ms-do pointed out, sometimes changes are made and when you've settled down you think "Why didn't I do this ages ago?" Sure I'll have to get refunds on the tonne of stuff I paid and deal with the transition .. * sigh * .. David and I do have a good relationship though so hopefully that's halfway to getting there.

I feel as though I'm ready for a relationship. I don't have anyone in mind, there are no potentials on the horizon, but I am in the frame of mind of being open to something more. The whole "meet for sex" thing is getting old - it was fun for four years but really I want the sex to be the gravy, not the meat.

Congrats go out to S and his son P who won a national computer design competition! ( The son won it, not S!) P is only in high school and competed against University students under difficult conditions. Hugs to both for an amazing effort.

t.

Nothing Interesting
Monday, Apr. 11, 2005 - 7:35 a.m.
Had a very relaxing day yesterday (Sunday). David went to a friends and I slept until 2pm, then pottered around making vegetable soup and doing very little.

I went to a psychic on Thursday which was interesting. Don't really wish to go into all the details but I believed some of it and the rest .. hmmm .. not sure.

Uni is starting to get busy. I also have other work happening. Have had great fun spending money to last week or so .. it's so much nicer going grocery shopping without adding up in my head.

Haven't seen D since early March but I have heard from him. He's busy as usual so no fun at all! It's been at least a month and that's not good!

Had another meeting at the school about David. He is on last chance - another thing happens and he is expelled. I'm ringing the other local school today in preparation for that. I just know that his current Principal which get so much pleasure from expelling him that I'm tempted to pull him out before that happens.

t.

What Progress in 30 Years?
Wednesday, Apr. 06, 2005 - 11:11 p.m.
"In 1975 when the first women�s shelter was established in Queensland, optimists thought that domestic violence could be eradicated within five years. It is now 30 years on and the struggle continues. In 2005, we also celebrate the 100th year of Australian womens' right to vote and the 40th year for indigenous womens' suffrage." (Source: Email)

After reading these milestones, I was reminded of the night I arrived at the women's refuge on Boxing Day 2000 after leaving my marriage. I had driven 5 hours in a beat up car with no radio and David asleep on the back seat to arrive near midnight at the refuge. I had no belongings except for a swimming bag - no ID, no money, no food or clothing. I was exhausted, emotional, scared. After my briefing the worker showed me our room. I put David into a bed and then followed her to a cupboard. There, she handed me two toiletry bags - one apricot, one blue. Both had a toothbrush, toothpaste, facecloth and soap. Mine had a razor in it. Both were hand stitched with lace and a ribbon drawstring. I was told that they were made by ladies from the Country Women's Association - a volunteer organisation.

I cried as I held my start of my new life. It was the best gift I could receive - given the opportunity to wash away my previous life and feel new again. I don't think these CWA members will ever know the value of their gift ... or maybe they knew exactly what I needed.

t.

Boo then Yay
Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005 - 9:41 p.m.
Went to a lock factory today. This is for the new system I might be doing. The owner expressed his concerns about staff using the warehouse computer to burn information onto CD/DVD. I said, not thinking: "Oh you can get these special tower cases which have a door on the front and you can lock the case!" I said, full of knowledgeable enthusiasm.

With a twinge of a smile he said, "Yes that should keep 40 locksmiths out no problem".

After I recovered from the embarrassment I suggested using a bra hook which he agreed would be far more difficult for them.

I did a little shopping today - went to my favourite store IKEA - but only after I paid $500 in bills.

t.

Softening a little
Monday, Apr. 04, 2005 - 6:29 p.m.
There's a money tree growing out the front of my house. My neighbour showed it to me and asked that I keep watering it because it's looking very healthy atm. I don't believe in stuff like this BUT the money is rolling in from all directions which is lovely. My scholarship is being paid into my account tonight and it's double what I expected! I rang the Uni to confirm that the amount was correct, and it is, so it's shopping shopping shopping for the next couple of days. Add it that the last payment for end Stage 2 database plus the new business call I received on Friday and we'll be able to eat! Hooray! (Just kidding ... )

My parents are away in the mountains for a couple of days. I rang Mum today and was talking about something I needed to do in July when she reminded me that she won't be here! The reality that they will be travelling the world for 7 months from June is starting to sink in. I talk to Mum usually every day and that luxury won't be available. I worry about them too ... I notice things about them which reminds me that they're getting older. I don't want to be the 'oldest capable generation' - not yet. Being the middle generation is only just sinking in. I still need my parents; I need to know that they can still support me emotionally (and financially if I need it). I want to be able to ring her and complain and whinge and get advice. Despite all the animosity I feel towards my Mother I'm beginning to realise that I will miss her - both when she's globetrotting and when she goes forever.

t.

Don't say one day ...
Friday, Apr. 01, 2005 - 7:50 p.m.
We had a FANTASTIC day at Dreamworld yesterday!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

It's located on the Gold Coast, about 40 minutes drive from us. Quite expensive to get in, but all rides and attractions are free once you get in. We started at the Spongebob Squarepants attraction where David had his photo taken with the two stars.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

We also went to the show where my Dad was called up to be a Goofy Goomber! It was so funny that I could hardly take pictures. I had tears streaming down my face and my sides hurt all day!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

NOTE TO IW: These are NOT to end up in the TGS Newsletter!!!

David is not usually big on rides but he went on one rollercoaster which was great. We also did all the water rides and then Mum paid for David and Dad to go on a helicopter ride! They flew over the Big Brother house .. that was the first time David has ever flown and he loved it.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

When they were approaching the helicopter there were three men (my Dad and the two pilots). They were all 6' or taller, but David was bent over at the waist practically crawling towards the copter. It was really sweet! He had the camera so I was unable to take a pic but it pretty funny.

David enjoyed all the attractions; Dad and I enjoyed all the big rides and Mum enjoyed paying for everything. It was an amazing day and I'm glad David had a chance to spend some time with my parents before they leave for their world trip in June. Dad reckons they'll be fine because they're "not going in any country ending in STAN". :)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

t.