Life Goes On

Valid Point
Friday, Mar. 05, 2004 - 11:37 p.m.
clare says: ok i'm lost now too

Tracey says: gonna have to print that one

clare says: i think we should start again

Tracey says: i think so too

Tertia says: Hi.. I'm Tertia.. and you are?

clare says: Hello my names clare and i have poor taste in men

Tracey says: im tracey

Tracey says: seen you with dick in your mouth Tertia.....we can skip the formalities

A Banker and a Gentleman
Friday, Mar. 05, 2004 - 11:14 p.m.
Well Clarebear has told you some of my news - went over there for lunch (lasagne.. yum) and we talked about her drama with Phil. I'm probably the wrong person to talk to because I'm such a cold hearted bitch who says "Next!" with no second chances. I guess Clarebear will balance my advice out with other advice she is given and work out her own decision.

I picked David up after school and we went to the keycard to get out some money. There wasn't a great deal left in there and David commented on it, saying it wasn't much to live on. I just said it will do and we went home.

He was changing into his pyjamas tonight, and as he took his school shorts off he said "There's 65 cents tuckshop change in my pocket. You can have it. I need to contribute to our budget."

Of course, this is just delightful to hear under any circumstances - how sweet. The difference for me is that it proves that he is MY son, and not his father's son. There is no way that Wayne would have ever thought like that and it makes me proud of myself for leaving the negative energy to raise my son into a man I will be proud of.

t.

It's all about karma
Wednesday, Mar. 03, 2004 - 12:39 p.m.
I was in my Applications Programming lecture today and the lecturer was enforcing the importance of having the text book for this subject. All the tutorial and practical work is in said text book and without it we cannot possibly pass the unit! So I was sitting there wondering how on earth I can find a spare $87.00 before next Tuesday when I remembered that I had to pick up a University Book Shop voucher for the work I did on the Mature Age Orientations last week.

So I figured that I might get a $50.00 voucher and then I would only have to find $37.00 by next week. When I picked up the envelope there was $100 book voucher in there! Completely unexpected but extremely appreciated. I now have the boring over-priced yet necessary book on my desk.

It's all about karma. I gave up two days of my Uni holidays to help beginning mature age students avoid the pitfalls I experienced when i started Uni and a week later my karma is returned.

It feels good.

t.

Noble Endeavour
Wednesday, Mar. 03, 2004 - 12:36 p.m.
"True friends stab you in the front" -- Oscar Wilde
Clarebear where are you???
Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2004 - 1:24 p.m.
Another day gone and no update from ms-do! Not good at all Clarebear. The way diaryland works is that you have to overcome the fear that your writing will seem stupid or boring or insignificant. Try to write every day in the first month because then it becomes a habit. Eventually, diaryland will become a part of your thoughts; it will be the first thing you want to check when you go online; something will happen during the day and you will think to yourself "i must write about that". Your diary will become your dumping ground for superfulous thoughts. Afte writing, that thought will no longer be annoying the frontal lobe. Don't think about writing for others, write for yourself. Here is a LIST of topic ideas from your favourite organise freak:

* what sort of cake you're cooking for O's birthday;

* why you love reality tv;

* the eternal struggle to give up smoking;

* the fact that you want to spend Thursday AND Friday night with Phil, and what that might mean;

* how it feels to have so many sisters (or be part of a large family);

* the expectations/fears of your new job;

* why you haven't yet signed up for internet banking;

* how you have this really adorable yet frustrating friend who pushes your boundaries and drops in for lunch because you're such a great cook.

* mwah * to Clarebear.

t.

dreaming of fluidlife
Monday, Mar. 01, 2004 - 10:18 p.m.
I had a dream last night where fluidlife was sitting in my kitchen having a cup of coffee. Please know that i've never met her or even seen a picture so don't assume that my following description is in anyway accurate and if you know someone that looks like this it is merely coincidental!

She had shoulder length brunette hair with a deep red streak or tinge to it. Her hair was in these big curls around her face, sort of Charlize Theron style. She looked to be in her mid-thirties with just a touch of makeup on but these amazingly sexy eyes! Now as you've probably all gathered from my diary I am not gay but I have explored the female body once or twice and can appreciate lust when i see it!

So anyway, fluidlife was sitting at MY kitchen table having a cup of coffee with me while her daughter (?? stupid dream considering she has a son ??) was playing nintendo with David. Fluidlife was saying "Oh I was in the country, my husband is at a conference, so I thought I'd drop in and say hi!"

I only wish I hadn't woken up ... there's no knowing where those sexy eyes could have taken us ;)

I'm now going to post a note in her diary so she'll read this.

t.

Instructions for Life
Monday, Mar. 01, 2004 - 4:53 p.m.
1. Take into account that great love and great achievements involve great risk.

2. When you lose, don�t lose the lesson.

3. Follow the three R�s - Respect for self; Respect for others; Responsibility for all your actions.

4. Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.

5. Learn the rules so you know how to break them properly.

6. Don�t let a little dispute injure a great relationship.

7. When you realize you�ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.

8. Spend some time alone every day.

9. Open arms to change, but don�t let go of your values.

10.Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.

11.Live a good, honorable life.

12. A loving atmosphere in your home is the foundation for your life.

13. In disagreements with loved ones, deal only with the current situation. Don�t bring up the past.

14. Share your knowledge. It�s a way to achieve immortality.

15. Once a year, go someplace you�ve never been before.

16. Remember that the best relationship is one in which your love for each other exceeds your need for each other.

17. Judge your success by what you had to give up in order to get it.

t.

Good friends are essential with an Aspergers Child
Sunday, Feb. 29, 2004 - 11:18 p.m.
I was checking my bank account online the other day. My gf Dimity was here because she was babysitting David. The conversation went as follows:

Me: "Damn! There's a $100 less in my account than I was expecting!"

David: "I'm looking in your direction Dimity."

I didn't know whether to laugh and high-five him or tell him off for being rude.

The joys of having an Aspergers Child.

t.

Permission Granted to Live
Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004 - 11:03 p.m.
The Access course today was great. Heaps of information to get through in one day (16 chapters) but it went really well. I have taught for this educational institute before but haven't previously taught this subject. The class were very enthusiastic and most of them knew what they were doing. I love meeting new people. I know that sounds like a personal ad or a CV line but the spin is that I don't enjoy it because of the potential to make new acquaintances. I like it because I can quizz and question them to find out if they're "tertia-worthy"! Fuck I'm a snob! :P Everyone is the product of their nature and nurture - it's interesting to discover how well they have coped with their life lot. People often say things that reveal more about them than they realise and I guess diaryland is an example of that. Makes me wonder what I reveal?

A prime example of this happened the other day. In the block of flats adjacent to mine, there lives a young couple who are generally not good citizens. They bring their groceries home from the shopping centre in the trolley (cart) and then leave it in the street. They have massive screaming matches. They squeal their tyres everytime drive away. You get the idea. So anyway, the guy turned up on my doorstep last week sometime asking if I could give him lift to the next suburb to pick up a new gearbox for his car. (Gee.. much remember to remove the TAXI sign off my car.. * rolls eyes*). I happened to be going out anyway so I relented. The couple came out of their flat carrying their TV which they proceeded to put in my carboot and hopped in the car saying "Just drop us down at Buranda Cashies" (which I eventually worked out is the local pawnbrokers). This did not please me as I had to pull up in a bus zone in my car on a busy Saturday in my local neighbourhood whilst some young fucked up degenerates pull their TV out of my boot and marched into the pawnbrokers! Grrrr.. The point of telling you all this was that in the car on the way down I mentioned the physical abuse on the neighbour across the street that had occurred a few nights previously. The guy responded by saying "Yeah.. he beats her all the time.. AND she's pregnant!" and then he said "If I ever hit Melody (gf) I'd give her my permission to leave me". I nearly crashed the fucking car!! WTF? You would GIVE her YOUR PERMISSION to leave her??? Fuckhead.

t.

Relax at Steptoe & Son's
Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004 - 10:46 p.m.
As above, it's 10.46pm on Saturday night and I feel as though my week has just ended. After nearly four months holiday it's tough getting back into a working week routine. Meetings, orientations, presentations and then today teaching MS Access for seven hours has exhausted me.

Tonight my relaxation method includes ice cold water (with refill bottle nearby), snacks (muesli bars and chupachup lollipops), music (Speedstar, bruises you can touch), ceiling fan on and doing Diaryland.

My CD player cost under AUS$300 but it is the first one I've ever owned - had it about 18 months. All my current furniture and accessories are a mix of really old secondhand stuff and terrific new stuff. The old are hand-me-downs either from my time at the refuge or generous friends and family that have donated to the "help Tertia rebuild her life from scratch" cause which started three years ago. The new are items that I have waited a long time for, some as long as three years, because I don't believe in replacing second hand with more second hand. I prefer to use the old stuff (or go without) until I can afford to get exactly what I want. I still don't have the TV or computer desk I want - they're next on the list. So back to my CD player ... It is compact, with a wood veneer finish and the essential item? Remote Control! The control sits near my computer and everytime I replay or change channels or alter the volume I thank myself for buying the one I wanted. :)

t.

My Diaryland Trading Card
Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004 - 12:00 am

*Second Edition*
Diaryland Trading Card!

Life Goes On
Nerddette
Member since 04/10/2003
160 entries
Free Edition

Description: 30-something single Brisbanite with a positive life and an opinion.

Strengths: Intelligence, Positivity, Support Network.

Weaknesses: Intelligent and funny guys, cappucino icecream.

Turn Ons: Laughing, conversation, confidence (not arrogance).

Turn Offs: Excessive alcohol, arrogance, disrespect.

Brought to you with love by Daydreamings.
Get your own!