Life Goes On

My Offering
Thursday, May. 04, 2006 - 1:09 a.m.

Exam went well.
Had fun last night.
Had chocolate for breakfast.
David is home from camp.
Money is delayed.

I'm a little flat (2br, WIR, LUG ;)) so sticking to facts instead of feelings. You know me - Ostrich Queen. I can't blog about anything properly when I've got something really important that I can't stop thinking about but I'm not ready to blog about that so here 'tis. Humble yet informative.

t.

-
Wednesday, May. 03, 2006 - 6:26 p.m.
John F. Kennedy - "Once you say you're going to settle for second, that's what happens to you in life."

t.

Ooookkkayyyy?
Tuesday, May. 02, 2006 - 1:30 p.m.

I'm not sure if this was 'lost in translation' or is it located in Kings Cross? Bizarre.


t.

Reality TV for the win :)
Tuesday, May. 02, 2006 - 2:24 a.m.

Okay I'm back in Uni mode. I have an exam tomorrow (well later today considering the time). It's a mid-semester worth 30% but luckily it's in my better subject of the two - Enterprise Systems (SAP Implementation). I have been diligently studying over the last couple of weeks with my group and now to just get it all into my head.

David leaves for camp tomorrow morning. I'm sure he will have a great time - he went two years ago and had a ball so hopefully it will be the same. Although I will enjoy the break I will miss him! This will be the first time he's been away for more than one night in two years. It will be a shock to his system to go from using his computer for about 10 hours a day to doing physical activities like canoeing, archery and the high ropes. I am considering getting a family gym membership and getting us both out of the house and into some regular exercise routine (other than walking).

I am completely and utterly addicted to Big Brother! As I always say "I hate the fact that I love it". Funnily enough my parents are addicted to this series as well, mainly because Dad taught one of the housemates and he is following his progress but it's still funny to answer the phone during the daily show and have my Dad say in an excited voice: "They're in the revenge room!" These are conservative, white collar Liberal voters who normally watch ABC documentaries or the Vienna Boys Choir for fun.

Back to study. I want to get my study doc ready to take to the printers in the morning.

t.

-
Monday, May. 01, 2006 - 1:27 a.m.

This started as an email and ended up sounding like a blog entry so here it is. :)

David leaves for school camp on Tuesday morning. Today I spent lots of money and time on getting him ready. It shits me that I paid the camp site $180 and then I'm also sending about $50 worth of gluten free food. I rang them and they said they can cater for coeliac but I know that means he will end up with fruit for morning tea when everyone else is getting biscuits so I'm sending a box full of food for him.

I have washed, dried, named and sealed all his clothes into zip lock bags by outfit. I have bought him a raincoat and threaded elastic into his old sandshoes so that he can slip them on and not have to worry about the laces. I have bought him a toiletry bag and filled it with the usual plus sunscreen and insect repellant. Do you get the idea that I'm excited about him going away?? It's more about setting up his suitcase (environment) to be stress free so that he can focus on having a good time.

I went to Vodafone today to see about getting a new phone and they were so rude to me, just because they weren't getting a sale as such because the phone is free under my Vodafone rewards. Grrrrr .. it annoys me that they make assumptions about my worth as a customer simply by the way I'm dressed and the fact that on this visit I'm wanting something for free. I am seriously considering changing networks - if I go with 3 mobile I get live Big Brother streaming 24/7!!! After being an account customer of theirs for five years, spending at least $80 a month you'd think they would give me more courtesy. I will be ringing head office Tuesday morning.

Went down to Ikea yesterday with Ainslie. I love that shop so much! It is cheap and cheerful and incredibly clever. I think I read somewhere that Mr Ikea topped Bill Gates in earnings last year? Not surprising considering the whole Ikea concept. Love it.

t.

Monopoly 2006
Thursday, Apr. 27, 2006 - 11:54 p.m.

From Alternative Monopoly Cards.

t.

... and they reckon women are high maintenance???
Thursday, Apr. 27, 2006 - 10:51 a.m.

I've just spent two days with David - one for the Public Holiday for Anzac Day (Tuesday) and then he was home yesterday because they had cross country at school. I don't excuse him from PE or the cross country training during school time but I do allow him to stay home when the actual cross country takes place. There is nothing good to be gained from forcing a non-athletic child to face the embarrassment of coming near last and spending the rest of the day in the sun watching others running around the block. David thrives on routine so school needs to involve classes, lunch, home otherwise there is no excuse if he becomes difficult.

He is not a naughty child in the traditional sense but he is 'high maintenance' especially when we spend part of the day with other people. I am constantly in 'mother' mode trying to moderate his behaviour and minimise his impact on the people around us. At least when we're home he is on his computer or we watch a movie together. It's low maintenance and I'm not worried about his impact on others.

So this morning I seriously needed some timeout. I dropped him at school and then went to this great cafe that still provides smoking tables. I had a couple of lattes, a bacon and egg omelette (with mushrooms and onions) and read a magazine. It only took an hour but i feel completely revived. The rest of the day will be spent preparing for my exam on Monday.

David goes on school camp next Tuesday for four days! I considered going away, and I might still do that for one night, but I need to be within driving distance to the Sunshine Coast so that I can get to camp if David needs me.

Yesterday would have been Wayne's 40th birthday. He hated the idea of getting older; often dyeing his hair (with disasterous results) to cover the grey. I think his 40th would have been a very difficult day for him. I remember his 30th - it was 4 months after we got married and I gave him a surprise party at a local nightclub.

I think men are incapable of being faithful. They are conditioned to hunt and seek what they don't have. I don't think it matters how great their partner is - she can be beautiful and/or intelligent and/or great in bed but they will still continue to seek for whatever is lacking. Wayne was one of the few men I've known personally that I don't think was ever unfaithful but I was his partner so I really wouldn't know, would I?

t.

Eccentric Genius = Autistic Savant?
Wednesday, Apr. 26, 2006 - 5:48 p.m.

An excerpt of an email from my brother who doesn't believe he's Aspergers.

I cannot believe how useless some students are!!! These guys did Software engineering as a subject at school but still cannot implement basic recursion!!! Surely I'm not THAT much better than them? I did a very small amount of programming in Maths 2, the rest I taught myself. Oh well maybe I'm being too hard on them, but if you cannot implement simple recursion at second year computer science how are you going to implement some of the advanced concepts like sistohlic arrays? Some of them cannot even implement a for loop!!! Sigh! People have told me that I'm an eccentric genius, but I don't believe them.

*sigh* I am the dumbest in my family and it's times like this that it shows. I'm just glad that I at least have friends and a social life. What bugs me about him refusing to admit that he might be Aspergers is that with a diagnosis he could:

* Get more money from Centrelink to supplement his work.
* Be eligible for a scholarship at Uni.
* Be listed with his employer's Equal Employment Opportunity and therefore be given special consideration when having contracts renewed or being reprimanded about how he deals with people.
* Get to understand the nature of Aspergers and therefore become aware of how his interactions affect the people around him.

David was diagnosed at 7 and after a few years of refusing to accept it he now has a higher level of perception about his condition. He can now analyse his interactions and ask me when he's unsure if he has behaved appropriately. This gives me confidence that he will lead a near-normal life especially if he can find an understanding and loving partner or great group of friends who accept him as he is.

t.

-
Monday, Apr. 24, 2006 - 10:25 p.m.


From Think Geek.

t.

He cracks me up :)
Monday, Apr. 24, 2006 - 12:47 a.m.
David: "Now that we're rich I want to wear a top hat and a monocle."

t.

Two Boxes
Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006 - 9:11 a.m.
I have in my hands two boxes,
Which God gave me to hold.
He said, "Put all your sorrows in the black box,
And all your joys in the gold."

I heeded His words, and in the two boxes,
Both my joys and sorrows I stored,
But though the gold became heavier each day,
The black was as light as before.

With curiosity, I opened the black,
I wanted to find out why,
And I saw, in the base of the box, a hole,
Which my sorrows had fallen out by.

I showed the hole to God, and mused,
"I wonder where my sorrows could be!"
He smiled a gentle smile and said,
"My child, they're all here with me.."

I asked God, why He gave me the boxes,
Why the gold and the black with the hole?
"My child, the gold is for you to count your blessings,
The black is for you to let go."

t.

The Darkest Monday of them all
Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006 - 5:25 a.m.
For those of you who have been reading my blog for more than a year probably read something similar to this entry last year. I make no apologies for that. Anniversaries are important for many reasons and Easter Monday will never be forgotten in my heart.

It was Easter Monday 2001, my first four months away from my marriage. I travelled up to Toowoomba to visit my parents and, like many other families that day, we went to Queens Park to enjoy the wonderful Autumn weather and give David some time on the playground. I was with my parents and a friend from Brisbane, just sitting on a park bench and chatting. I had my back to the playground and my parents were opposite me, watching David over my shoulder.

Then I heard that voice - the one that still makes my blood run cold. "Give me back my fucking son!" he yelled. My parents jumped up and I turned around in time to see Wayne grab David off the playground and start running across the park with him in his arms. To this day I don't know how she did it, but my Mother caught up with them and grabbed one of David's arms. They were pulling him in two directions. Wayne then punched my Mother in the shoulder. My Dad, to his credit, knew that Wayne would cause huge dramas if he hit him back and somehow restrained himself whilst observing his wife being assaulted. Dad put himself between Wayne and Mum and joined in the tussle of trying to get David back.

Most other parents understandably grabbed their own children and took off in every direction. I was screaming. I was not allowed to approach Wayne because of the domestic violence order which I had against him - it also prevented me from approaching him as that would be considered trying to get him to breach it. I had my Mother's mobile phone in my hand but could not dial the numbers. I kept doubling over in physical pain. This woman came over to me, took the phone from my hand, gave it to her teenage daughter and then just knelt down with me as I collapsed. She rubbed my back and just kept telling me it would be okay.

When the police arrived they asked both parties (via my parents) who had custody. My Dad had been telling me for ages to get custody and I had avoided it for two reasons. Firstly, I always assumed that Wayne would realise that David was better off with me and would never consider taking him. Secondly, I just wanted to maintain the status quo, as bad as it was. I believe he was undiagnosed, untreated bipolar and the only way I knew to deal with him was to always let him think he was in control. Slapping him with an 'unprovoked' custody battle would have unfathomable consequences. As it turns out they happened anyway.

So neither of us had custody which meant that the Police were powerless. Because it was school holidays they suggested that Wayne be allowed to take David until the day before school resumed the following Monday and made a verbal agreement with Wayne to return David to a specified Police Station on the Sunday. I knew he wouldn't; my parents knew he wouldn't but I was powerless.

So the following Sunday comes and goes and surprise he doesn't turn up. I realised then that David was officially kidnapped and thus began my five week battle to get him back. I had to lodge a Recovery Order with the Family Court, in triplicate, every page signed by a Justice of the Peace. I had to also lodge my interim orders and pay some stupid fee of around $200. I had to list all possible contacts for Wayne to help find him. He was gone, and had picked up his other two kids along the way. Every minute of every day I waited for the phone call to say that he had been found, gassed in the car with the kids. Considering his final suicidal demise this was very possible.

I don't know how I coped. I remember going to work every day, catching the bus home and just crawling into bed and sleeping until the next morning. The only thing I remember was listening to the song "Yellow" by Cold Play. Everytime I hear that song it reminds me of that time.

Three court cases later I was finally granted full custody and gave him access with strict conditions. I found out that he was living in the car, with the three boys, on a river bank. They had no food, no toilet, no running water. They slept outside or in the car. David was so hungry that he actually gave Wayne my PIN number saying "Mum always has money in her account". Obviously he didn't realise that Wayne needed my card as well, but the mere fact that he would reveal it shows just how desperate he was.

When I got David back five weeks later he had no shoes, his clothes were too small for him. He was filthy and had burrs in his hair. He had been completely brainwashed by his Father to the point that he didn't speak to me for three days, believing that I was evil and detrimental to him. Considering that 6 months later he was diagnosed with autism just makes the whole thing more horrific - an autistic child was ripped out of his environment with no warning, no routine, no anything.

I hate Wayne for that. I have never felt so much loss and helplessness and complete shattering weakness. It felt as though all my bones had been stripped from my body and I had nothing to hold me up. I was living in the women's refuge at the time so I thank God that I had those people around - counsellors, court advisors, food made for me, no bills to pay. I could not function other than go to work which was necessary if I was to prove to the court that I was the only fit parent. My parents wrote affidavits, attended court cases both in Brisbane and 4 hours drive away. They were incredible.

I think this experience is why I'm so fearless now. I'm not scared to walk outside at night. I leave my doors unlocked when I'm sitting here working/blogging at 4am. I throw caution to the wind because my hell has already happened and I survived. If you are a single parent I urge you to GET YOUR FAMILY ORDERS SORTED OUT. Without them the other parent can just come and take your child. Legally.

t.

Memes
Saturday, Apr. 15, 2006 - 1:57 a.m.
Your Life Path Number is 4

Your purpose in life is to build your vision.

You are practical and responsible. You work hard, knowing that there are no shortcuts in life.
You work for a better life for yourself and those you love, but you are not an idealist.
Trustworthy and honest, you also demonstrate great courage. People can count on you.

In love, you are a loyal and committed partner. You are the ideal spouse.

You don't give up easily, and sometimes you can be too stubborn and unwilling to change.
You also can be too conservative at times. You sometime miss out on good opportunities.
Also remember that not everyone can work as hard as you, as disappointing as that is!

People Envy Your Confidence

You have the attitude and self esteem to take on anything. Failure is beyond not an option for you - it doesn't even cross your mind.
People envy your ability to take on any challenge ... and they're secretly afraid you think you're better than them. You don't. You're just sure of yourself.

t.

I'd be a millionaire if I got paid for yawning
Friday, Apr. 14, 2006 - 1:07 a.m.
My eyes are half closed. I'm doing those really big noisy yawns which make my eyes water. Finished job application at 4am and it was in the mail by noon. I cancelled the job interview this morning for the job I didn't really want but ironically it turned out... oh fuck it too hard to explain i'll just paste the email.


My email to her to cancel the appt

From: Tertia S
To: Job applications
Date: Apr 12, 2006 3:34 PM
Subject: Re: Job Application - Database Programmer

Good afternoon May,

I hope this email reaches you in time. I am in the process of applying for a fulltime government position. I am committed to not wasting your time and realised that if you were to offer me a position I could not accept it until I had finished the recruitment process for this government position.

Therefore I would like to cancel our proposed interview tomorrow so that you may concentrate on finding someone who is better positioned to stay with your company.

Thank you for considering my application and I hope that you find a suitable person.

Regards,

T


Her reply this morning

From: May
To: Tertia S
Date: Apr 13, 2006 8:15 AM
Subject: RE: Job Application - Database Programmer

Hello Tertia,

Thanks for your notification. I am glad to hear that you may be succesful in your application with government.

As you know I was only looking for a part-time student position but I have already filled that. However, I was so impressed with your CV that I was contemplating creating a full time position to suit your skills if my initial impression of your skills and personality was intact after the interview.

You are very welcome to contact me again if you change your mind. All the best.

Kind regards

May


I thought that was pretty cool. The possibility of having a job created for me, matching my skills, based purely on an email and a resume. I am now less worried about whether or not I will find employment after my degree.

I also got a fantastic written reference from one of my lecturers. Now I'm going to bed. These last two statements are mutually exclusive.

t.