Life Goes On

Super Size Me
Thursday, Apr. 13, 2006 - 3:04 a.m.
What's better than an Oreo McFlurry from McDonalds?

An Oreo McFlurry from McDonalds that you weren't expecting AND that arrives the day before payday. :)

Up late finishing off my job application for a kick ass job that I really, really want. It was written for me. Just gotta get it now.

t.

Huddle and Strategise
Wednesday, Apr. 12, 2006 - 11:19 a.m.
Feels like I haven't been home in days! I have slept here but I've been out of the house during the day - this is the first time I've been home at Dr Phil hour since the weekend.

I helped a friend move house on the weekend and have also spent days over there helping to get furniture into place so that she can start to unpack boxes.

Tomorrow I have an informal job interview for a job I don't even want and I also have to do the selection criteria for a job I do want and post it tomorrow so that it can make it there by Tuesday.

The 'secret squirrel' project that I am involved in is increasing momentum and I'm getting really excited about the possibilities.

I have study group on Monday, which I have to prepare for. I have a mid-semester exam in two weeks.

Friday is the deadline for contesting the $51,000. The wait to find out is excruciating. Hopefully some time next week.

I have been playing nurse to a neighbour who had a surgical procedure yesterday. I'm playing secretary for another neighbour who needs some excel work done.

Feeling a bit like vegemite - spread thinly. I'm gonna have to regroup and start saying NO so that I can tick off my things first before helping others.

t.

Nurture the Child
Sunday, Apr. 09, 2006 - 12:07 p.m.
How does our childhood nurture affect us as adults?

Background
I grew up in a 'privileged' house. One of it's definitions fit - "enjoying a special advantage, immunity, permission, right, or benefit granted to or enjoyed by an individual, class, or caste."

I know it's a weird word but I can't think of a better one.

I didn't grow up in a wealthy home - my parents weren't movie stars and they didn't drive BMWs. We only had one car, but it was a pretty good one. I went to a private school. I had my own room, with a phone extension in it. I went on all school excursions, a school trip and we went away every school holidays - either just to the coast or overseas on bigger holidays. I developed an appreciation for Gilbert and Sullivan before puberty, but I don't know much about opera or ballet. I have skiied three times, on two different continents - but not at Aspen.

I've never had to wear hand-me-down clothes. When we first arrived in Australia we did occasionally buy play clothes at charity shops but that was only until Mum got her job. I always got new, good quality shoes and school uniforms. There was always food in the house and really great presents for birthdays and Christmas.

I guess the opposite of my life is easier to describe. I know a family who has 8 children. I've known these kids since the youngest one was 6 months old (she is now 15). They have lived tough - always moving house, being shuffled from Mum's place to Dad's place as the custody battle continues. Their mother at one stage was addicted to speed and food and toilet paper were rare commodities. Whenever I visited, I would take over food for the kids - not junk, but real food like quiche or potato bake. The kids would quickly gather around the kitchen table and eat very fast, as if this would be their last meal.

I remember as a high school student going for the weekend to a friends house. She was one of 10 kids (Catholic family surprise surprise) and I asked her Mum what I could bring. She insisted on nothing because families like that just cook in bulk so one more mouth is nothing. So my Mum went out and bought 20 packets of chocolate biscuits, realising that the family would very seldom have such luxuries. The family loved it - once again crowding around the bag as though it were Santa's sack.

My Thoughts
The reason I'm mentioning all this is not for a bragging session or to tell you how and why I'm better than you (because I'm not), I just find it fascinating how one's nurture affects our attitudes in adult life. Which of our personality characteristics are most affected by our upbringing?

Frugality - am I more likely to be frugal so that I never have to live in poverty? Is someone from a poor background more likely to spend often and quickly?

Egocentrism - am I likely to be content to be one of the crowd, having been given lots of individualised attention in my childhood? Is someone from a large family more likely to want to be special, to be noticed having always been 'one of many'.

Materialism - do I continue to derive pleasure from material possessions and categorise people by their material achievements? I someone from a poor background more likely to surround themselves with wordly possessions to have what they didn't have?

The question I think is ... Does my privileged upbringing make me want that again in my adult life, do I seek the same, or do I try and find what I didn't have? I do remember as an early teen accusing my Mother of not loving me and she replied, "I do love you! I bought you an electric typewriter for Christmas!" She grew up in a very poor home and has strived all her life to have material possessions. They are her expression of love. I get that. I don't agree with it but I understand it as her currency.

Do children from poor/large/less privileged households strive for more materialism and individuality as adults, or were they the lucky ones all along - completely content with their upbringing - getting non-material love, sharing, selflessness and sibling support - and believing that to be the best way to bring up their children.

So then, we revisit the definition of privileged - ""enjoying a special advantage, immunity, permission, right, or benefit granted to or enjoyed by an individual, class, or caste." - this could apply to a large family too - regardless of income. Nowhere in that definition does it mention money.

I think a 'privileged' childhood is not about money. It's about always feeling wanted, secure, individual, fed, clothed, noticed, valued. This can be achieved regardless of the household income.

t.

-
Saturday, Apr. 08, 2006 - 10:10 p.m.
"The day Microsoft makes something that doesn't suck is the day they release a vacuum cleaner."
-- (found in a forum sig, original source unknown).

t.

Book Meme
Saturday, Apr. 08, 2006 - 9:38 p.m.
1. Grab the nearest book.
2. Open it to page 161.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the text of that sentence in your journal (or comment here) along with these instructions.

My Result

"In the interests of journalistic purity, we are publishing the following section just as it came off the tape - one of many that Dr Duke submitted for purposes of verification - along with his manuscript."

-- 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas', Hunter S. Thompson.

t.

The New Confucius
Saturday, Apr. 08, 2006 - 12:44 a.m.

David: "I've realised that slinky PLUS escalator would equal never-ending fun."

t.

Birthday Meme
Friday, Apr. 07, 2006 - 12:47 p.m.
Go to Wikipedia Anniversaries and look up your birthday (excluding the year). List three neat facts, two births and one death in your journal, including the year.

July 15

Facts
* 1927 - Massacre of July 15, 1927: 89 protesters are killed by Austrian police in Vienna.
* 1953 - John Reginald Christie, British serial killer executed.
* 1954 - First flight of the Boeing 707, the first American jet passenger airliner.

Births
* 1606 - Rembrandt, Dutch artist (d. 1669).
* 1946 - Linda Ronstadt, American singer.

Deaths
* 1997 - Gianni Versace, Italian fashion designer (b. 1946).

t.

Happy Males
Wednesday, Apr. 05, 2006 - 7:23 p.m.
Had a really fun day! Steak sandwich pub meal for lunch, lots of laughs, great company and delicious fudge. Picked David up - we were in the car with a male friend. The conversation turns to violence and after a bit of discussion David says:

"Violence against women is wrong". Dramatic pause. "Unless it's against another woman and they're both covered in oil".

t.

Buzzing in the Air
Wednesday, Apr. 05, 2006 - 9:36 a.m.

Update: I am getting my scholarship, just no definitive date yet. Maybe another week but the equity officer told me not to plan around any date because they have to wait for the money from the government.

In other news ...

I was up early this morning, did some stuff and then fell asleep on the couch. My alarm was set so I knew it was okay to doze until David needed to get up. I was fast asleep when I felt this little kiss on my forehead. :) He is such a darling.

This is the calm before the storm. My life is still and placid but I can feel the buzz around me that indicates that major things are about to happen. It could be Uni, although I just have a mid-semester exam in 2 weeks and no other assessment until end semester. It could be a job/work opportunity, as I have been focusing on these the last couple of days. It could also be an emotional upheaval in which case I will run and hide like I usually do. :) I wll just relish the calm until it ends.

t.

Nail Biting
Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006 - 9:26 a.m.
I'll feel a lot better when I see my bank balance showing my scholarship money. I am supposed to get my $1,080 this week and it's already reserved for my car rego and insurance. It is listed on the Uni website as being paid this week ... last year it was paid on the Monday and there is still no sign of it. I'm concerned because I only have two subjects left to do for my degree which technically makes me part-time. The scholarships are only available to full-time students except with "extenuating circumstances" which I think would apply to me?

I have rung the equity unit but the person I need to speak to won't be there until 11am.

I really need this money to go through. My whole budget is centered around it. I don't want to have to deal with this as a challenge in my life. Send me something NOT involving money.

t.

Music Meme
Monday, Apr. 03, 2006 - 11:27 p.m.
Instructions: Go to your music player of choice and put it on shuffle. Say the following questions, and press play. Use the song title as the answer to the question. NO CHEATING.

How does the world see you?
Frogstomp - Silverchair

Will I have a happy life?
Another Girl's Paradise - Tori Amos

What do my friends really think of me?
Everything Will be Alright Tomorrow - Faithless

Do people secretly lust after me?
Another Brick in the Wall - Pink Floyd (HAHAHAHAHA)

How can I make myself happy?
Heartbeat - Tahiti 80 (damn!)

What should I do with my life?
The Hardest Button to Button - The White Stripes

Will I have more children?
Nothing Can Be Done - Joni Mitchell (that's funny!! :D)

What is some good advice for me?
Let Down - Radiohead

How will I be remembered?
Perfect - Simple Plan (I am not perfect, and I'm not cheating!)

What is my signature dancing song?
Diamond Dogs - David Bowie

What do I think my current theme song is?
Some Crazy Bastard Wants to Hit Me - They Might Be Giants

What does everyone else think my current theme song is?
Fool For Love - Reservoir Dogs Sountrack

What song will play at my funeral?
Lucky - Radiohead

What type of men/women do you like?
Wild is the Wind - David Bowie (not true!)

What is my day going to be like?
Well It's True That We Love One Another - The White Stripes

t.