Life Goes On

Name Decoder
Friday, Mar. 03, 2006 - 9:33 a.m.

t.

Threes
Friday, Mar. 03, 2006 - 9:28 a.m.
Three Names you go by
1. Tertia
2. Nerddette (online obviously)
3. Aussie_Girl which I use in some US forums

Three Parts of Your Heritage
1. Born in Africa
2. Now an Australian citizen
3. Had Dutch great-grandparents

Three things that scare you:
1. Spiders
2. Love
3. Debt

Three of Your Everyday Essentials
1. Internet connection
2. Cold water
3. Sleep

Three Things You Are Wearing Right Now
1. Singlet
2. Shorts
3. My glasses

Three of Your Favourite Songs
1. Yellow - Cold Play
2. Angel of the Morning - Juice Newton
3. Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen

Three Things You Want in a Relationship (other than Real Love)
1. Independent thought
2. Separate bank accounts
3. Great sex

Two Truths and a Lie (in any order)
1. I am right handed
2. I sleep with a teddy bear
3. I will never get married again

okay, seriously?
1. I've never been drunk
2. I don't want a mortgage
3. I hate shopping

Three PHYSICAL Things about the Opposite Sex that Appeal to You
1. Short hair
2. Not too skinny
3. Hairy chest

Three of Your Favourite Hobbies
1. Reading silly girlie novels
2. Reading blogs
3. Designing databases

Three Things You want to do really badly right now
1. Have a shower
2. Have a cigarette
3. Have a snooze

Three Places You Want to go
1. Venice
2. Canada
3. Bed

Three Things You Want to Do Before You Die
1. Get over my arachnophobia
2. Fall in love
3. Forgive my Mother

Three Ways that you are stereotypically a Girl:
1. I'm scared of spiders
2. I don't enjoy watching sport
3. I have photos all around my house in nice frames

Three ways that you are more like a Guy:
1. I hate shopping
2. I don't wear high heel shoes
3. I make decisions logically not emotionally

t.
Birds and the Bees
Thursday, Mar. 02, 2006 - 7:56 a.m.
A little boy goes to his father and asks "Daddy, how was I born?" The father answers: "Well, son, I guess one day you will need to find out anyway! Your Mom and I first got together in a chat room on Yahoo. Then I set up a date via e-mail with your Mom and we met at a cyber-cafe. We sneaked into a secluded room, I upgraded my floppy to a stiffy and then your mother agreed to do a download from my hard drive. As soon as I was ready to upload, we discovered that neither one of us had used a firewall, and since it was too late to hit the delete button, nine months later a blessed little Pop-Up appeared and said: 'You've Got Male!'"

t.

I don't have to be happy ALL the time!
Wednesday, Mar. 01, 2006 - 8:09 a.m.
The cliff notes is that i'm not very well atm.

Started Monday, driving home from Uni, just finished a cigarette and got a really sharp pain across my chest. Luckily I was already home so staggered inside, had a drink, took some aspros and lay down for a while. When I woke up later the pain had moved to my back where it has been ever since.

Of course my first thought was heart attack but I dismissed it quickly and realised it was something else. Went to the doctor yesterday who says he thinks I have an ulcer in my oesophagus. This kinda makes sense with the location and occurence of pain etc. I am therefore avoiding caffeine, smoking and spicy foods. Don't know what else yet until it's confirmed. Doc reckons I should have marked improvement by Friday (I'm on meds).

I guess i'm a illness stereotypist? I always assumed that with my weight/smoking etc I would be a candidate for diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, asthma, arthritis/joint pain. I never expected that I would have an ulcer? It's unlikely to be stress or alcohol related! I always assumed that CEO's etc got ulcers from worrying about everything. I hardly ever drink alcohol (about four times a year) so that doesn't really fit the profile either!

So now my opportunity to whinge. Feel free to skip this part. It fucking hurts! The pain is just to the right of the middle of my shoulder blades. It feels as though there is a javelin stuck through my back and just touching the inside of my chest, so the majority of the pain is at the back. As with any back pain, every movement requires the back so driving/sleeping/cooking are all difficult. Problem is I can't take any pain medication because they irritate the ulcer! The meds I'm on have a special coating on them which allows for slow release of the medicine without irritating the lining. When I got the pain the other day I drank some diet coke with an aspro chaser - possibly the worst thing I could have done. :)

Add pain + no nicotine and I'm not the nicest person to be around atm. I have lots of good news about mix masters and uni and software and other stuff but quite frankly I'm going to sulk about the pain and the fact that I can't drown my sorrows by sucking back on a delicious cigarette.

t.

End of an Era
Sunday, Feb. 26, 2006 - 11:36 p.m.

My fourteen week holiday is finally over. I am actually looking forward to getting back to Uni tomorrow, even though I know that within 5 weeks I'll be stressed to the eyeballs and nearing breakdown - par for the course really. The reality is that once I finish my degree (in June) and start working (hopefully soon after that) there will be no more opportunities for a 14 week holiday until I get long service leave which may never happen considering IT is such a fluid industry it's unlikely I'll ever be with one company for long enough to qualify.

It was David's 12th birthday today. We didn't do much - just watched cartoons and played the Playstation that he got for his present. He got a couple of cards and small presents from friends and rellies which was nice and an email from his paternal grandparents which is really sweet considering I set them up with email in about November. :)

After all my drama on Friday night I expected the rest of the weekend to go smoothly however i received a phone call from a gf at 1am Saturday night/Sunday morning. She was pretty drunk and had locked herself out of the house after returning from a night out. No money left for another cab back to her friend's place and as she said "Tertia, you're the only person I know in Brisbane who is guaranteed to be sober on a Saturday night". So I checked with Craig (neighbour) that he was able to watch David while I drove over there and picked her up and delivered her safely to her friend's house.

My mother has lost her voice! She got Dad to ring this morning to give David his birthday wishes and then Dad got on the phone and asked me to impart all my news to my Mother. It was kinda weird talking into a phone with no response but on the other hand it was the perfect opportunity to talk about anything I wanted and know that she couldn't argue with me! :D One of these issues that we have is she doesn't understand the wonderful concept of working part time. When I was married I worked fulltime one job and had two casual jobs - around 80 hours a week. It never occurred to me that part time work was an option (although honestly the situation I was in I had to work that much to support the household). Then, when I started studying, I kept working fulltime and only in second year did I go to part time. It was wonderful! Besides that, our welfare system is set up so that it actually makes better financial sense for me to work part time but Mum is set in her ways and believes that one only does part time work because they can't find a fulltime job! I have already told her that when I get my degree I will be initially seeking part time work and only if that is unsuccessful will I then look at fulltime. If I work fulltime then I get absolutely zero time to myself. At least working part time there is opportunity for "me" time.

t.

Conflict and Mediation
Saturday, Feb. 25, 2006 - 10:13 a.m.

Adrenalin rush atm but I'll probably crash in a few hours. It's nearly 10am and I've been awake since 4am.

My neighbour Craig is a good bloke. He's lived there for about two years and we've got to know each other pretty well. We've talked and laughed and partied (softly) etc. Our doors are at right angles to each other so we see each other a couple of times a day. He's that rare breed of person who has an almost pure soul of intent. Every action he takes, every choice he makes is based on what he believes to be right - morally, socially, emotionally. He panics when it's coming up to rent day because the thought of not paying it makes him physically ill. He is only 24 but he has his own business laying carpet and has the strongest work ethic I've ever seen. When I found out that David was going to boot camp for punching someone, Craig had a private chat to him (after asking my permission) and David has NEVER hit anyone since. Craig lives for the day when he will have a wife and children to support - that is his life goal because, to him, that is the making of a man.

About three weeks ago another young bloke needed a place to stay. Craig didn't know him very well but agreed to rent him his second room for a couple of weeks. Things didn't work out - sharing accommodation is always hard and seldom successful and Craig was pretty unhappy about it all. Because he stresses so much at work doing the right thing he needs to come home to peace and serenity and that just wasn't possible with Eddie there.

So Eddie comes home tonight at 4am and finds the screen door locked. Not sure of the circumstances of why but that's not relevant to my story. He starts banging and yelling to be let in. He grabs the hosepipe and sprays through the windows, screaming obscenities about how he's going to kill Craig and he wants his stuff etc. I was, of course, woken up and was listening at the front door in case I needed to call the police. He loses his temper and thumps something, water is gushing everywhere (I thought it was just the hose) and then Eddie disappears. Ten minutes of gushing water it starts seeping under my front door so I decide to risk it and go out there. Well the idiot has kicked/hit the garden tap and completely snapped it off! There is a geyser of water spraying up in the air, through the windows and onto our porch - which explains the water under the door. I rang the non-emergency police number who told me to contact the landlord who was thrilled to get a phone call at 4.20am. He explained where the mains water was so here I am, pitch dark, potential angry drunk in the area AND arachnophobic sticking my hand in a dark hole in the middle of the lawn. Turned the water off which of course shuts off all water for every unit.

Went back inside; about 5.30am Eddie comes home and has a massive row with Craig. Craig finds conflict resolution nearly impossible so after about 15 minutes I went in there and tried mediating. It worked - Craig was finally able to say the words he couldn't for three weeks "I want you to move out". So Eddie packs his bags along with numerous guilt trips "I'm gonna kill myself", "I have nowhere to go" and "I've been kicked out of homes ever since I was a kid". I kept Craig strong so he didn't back down and then Eddie asked me to drive him to his family. I agreed - loading his bike, bags, etc into the car and drove to the North side. They said no so five phone calls on my mobile and all my smokes later I finally was able to drop him at the Salvation Army, getting home around 9.30am.

I feel as though my conflict resolution skills helped and hopefully Craig learnt something about getting a spine. I am exhausted.

t.

-
Friday, Feb. 24, 2006 - 11:41 p.m.

My computer geek score is greater than 82% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!

t.

Aspergers is Manageable
Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2006 - 10:25 p.m.
I am feeling very proud of David today. He had a follow up dentist appt today - it didn't go well. The dentist tried to explain to him about brushing etc but he didn't take it very well. The dentist rang me to explain what happened, and I emailed his teacher to find out how he went for the rest of the day. Why am I proud? Because although this appt was in the morning, he had a confrontation, he missed swimming .... YET he still managed to choose to put all that aside and have a good day regardless. He has managed to let it go, realising that the dentist incident is not related to his classroom.

This is a massive step forward. Last year he was only suspended once which was an improvement on the previous year of five times plus 4 weeks at behaviour boot camp. This year he actually doesn't hate school AND is doing homework for the first time in three years. Granted he does it at school during one of his 10 hours of one-on-one teacher aide time but hey, he's doing it. His new teacher is fully supportive of him, setting boundaries and expectations yet allowing him the space he needs when he needs it. She has provided jigsaw puzzles and lego at the back of the classroom at a dedicated desk where he can move to when the frustration gets too much.

I had a meeting with her early in the semester - she asked me what I wanted out of this year and I explained that I don't care about academic results. He is highly intelligent and I have no concerns about his ability to catch up on any minor concepts he might miss.

My goals for David for this year at school are: No suspensions. Behave appropriately in the classroom. No verbal or physical abuse of staff or students. Move towards self awareness of his frustration levels and take appropriate, approved actions to prevent frustration escalating into anti-social behaviour.

I have a good feeling about David and I working together to achieve most or all of these.

t.