Life Goes On

Back to The Real World
Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2005 - 10:58 p.m.
I am finally back and it's official - I am allergic to Toowoomba! We got up there on Friday and that night I got a really sharp pain in my ear which subsided and returned all Saturday until eventually Saturday midnight Mum took me to the hospital. Turns out I have sinusitis which was probably caused from travelling 2000m up the Toowoomba range! For the entire 5 days I was there the pain did not go away and I swallowed codeine which I never use. Not surprisingly, back in Brisbane today and the ear is just a little tender but no need for codeine.

Christmas was quiet but good I guess. David got a nice surprise from Mum with Series 1 - 6 of Cowboy Be Bop. The look on his face and subsequent hyperventilating was adorable! We had quite a few parties with Mum's friends - some were okay, others involved discussing Japanese politics and helping 70 year old men print out emails when they say things like "Oh that won't work!". You could just not ask me next time?

We spent a day at the in-laws, Wayne's parents place, and they were lovely as always. Really down-to-earth, corn beef and veges for dinner. His Dad showed me the roses that they have planted for Wayne which was lovely because Wayne always used to cut Dad's roses and give them to me!

Despite the difference in the heat, it is fantastic to be home! Even though Mum has a five bedroom Queenslander with air conditioning, cooked all the meals and I didn't have to spend any money, it is still wonderful to be back. I can yawn loudly, let David stay up, leave the clothes in the washing machine, smoke, slob around in a singlet without a bra and there is no-one complaining at me!

I think there is another rant about my relationship with my Mother which I might save for another entry. I also need to blog an update about Rob and lots of other stuff.

After no internet for five days it's nice to be back!

t.

Off we go ...
Friday, Dec. 23, 2005 - 5:52 a.m.

So today i head off to the wilderness for five days to have Christmas with the parents. Between David and I we are packing more techno stuff than clothes ... laptop, Nintendo gamecube, Nintendo DS, two mobile phones, DVD-R's etc. One suitcase for presents and clothes combined and 3 bags full of entertainment!

NOT that they have internet *sobs quietly*. So I won't be on email or blogging until next week (thursday).

I'm going to try really hard this visit to not let my Mother annoy me. At least this time she knows I'm stil smoking so when she stresses me out I will just go and have one to calm down. Last Christmas I tried to hide it from them and that was a disaster. Present wise it will be very simple ... I have one small present for David <$50 and a couple of DVDs each for my parents.

The one bonus is that it will be cool up there plus they have air conditioning. Actually another bonus is that Mum looks after me so no cooking, cleaning, etc and no spending money (or at least worrying about having meals).

I feel as though this will be the last Christmas that I feel compelled to have with them. I may choose to spend another there but until I finish my degree I just don't have the money to make Christmas different from any other day so at least going up there it will feel like we're doing something.

Also, I'm hoping that their six months away will make me appreciate them more!

Have a wonderful Christmas!

t.

*smile*
Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005 - 8:24 p.m.
In the year 2005, the Lord came unto Noah, who was now living in Australia and said, "Once again, the earth has become wicked and over-populated, and I see the end of all flesh before me. You need to build another Ark and save 2 of every living thing along with a few good humans. You have 6 months to build the Ark before I start the unending rain for 40 days and 40 nights".

Six months later, the Lord looked down and saw Noah weeping in his yard - but no Ark. "Noah!" He roared, "I'm about to start the rain! Where is the Ark? "Forgive me, Lord," begged Noah, "but things have changed. I needed a building permit. I've been arguing with the inspector about the need for a sprinkler system. My neighbours claim that I've violated the neighbourhood zoning laws by building the Ark in my yard and exceeding the height limitations. We had to go to the Development Appeal Board for a decision. Then the Department of Transportation demanded a bond be posted for the future costs of moving power lines and other overhead obstructions, to clear the passage for the Ark's move to the sea. I told them that the sea would be coming to us, but they wouldn't listen. Then I had problems getting the wood. There's a ban on cutting local trees in order to save an endangered species of bandicoot. I tried to convince the environmentalists that I needed the wood to save the bandicoots - but no go! When I started gathering the animals, an animal rights group sued me for confining wild animals against their will. They said it was cruel and inhumane to put so many animals in a confined space. Then the local council ruled that I couldn't build the Ark until they'd conducted an Environmental impact study on your proposed flood. I'm still trying to resolve a complaint with the Human Rights Commission on how many indigenous people I'm supposed to hire for my building crew. The Immigration department is checking the status of most of the people who want to work and I've even had a letter from Amanda Vanstone asking about my ethnic background! The trades unions say I can't use my sons. They insist I have to hire only Union workers with Ark-building experience. To make matters worse, the Taxation department has seized all my assets, claiming I'm trying to leave the country illegally with endangered species. So, forgive me, Lord, but it would take at least 10 years for me to finish this Ark.

Suddenly the skies cleared, the sun began to shine, and a rainbow stretched across the sky. Noah looked up in wonder and asked, "You mean you're not going to destroy the world?" "No," said the Lord. "The government beat me to it."

t.

War Games
Sunday, Dec. 18, 2005 - 8:19 p.m.

If you know what this is, please let me know!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

There are about 60 photos in the same location as that one.

I have about 50 war board games from my brother. I think they're from about mid-1980's and i have NO idea what to do with them.

Someone suggested E-bay but I've never sold anything on there before and I guess i'd like to know whether they are worth anything before I try that.

Ideally I would like someone to just buy the lot from me so if you have any ideas please comment or email me!

Thanks.

t.

Mixed Blessings
Friday, Dec. 16, 2005 - 12:42 p.m.
Last couple of days have been up and down.

* Good news - I drove to the Gold Coast on Wednesday to see the new guy and had a great day!

* Bad news - The car broke down on the way back, had it towed, hoping to pick it up today.

* Good news - My temp agency sent me a Myer Gift Card worth $50.00!

* Bad news - my pay didn't go through the bank this morning.

t.

Riots in Sydney
Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2005 - 11:37 a.m.

"Sixteen people were charged yesterday in relation to Sunday's violence, when a 5000-strong alcohol-fuelled mob, some waving flags and chanting racist slogans, chased and bashed people of Middle Eastern appearance at Cronulla beach." Source

Source of Photos


" Tensions flare ... police guard four people chased by a mob as violence erupts at North Cronulla on Sunday."


"Frenzy ... a group of men bash a man during the rampage."


"Mob mentality ... police use capsicum spray to control rioters as they guard a man."


"Mayhem ... the violence spilled on to the transport system, with men bashing passengers on a train at Cronulla station."

Absolutely disgusted. All I have is the media interpretation of the situation. Some say the 'leb' boys started it but then I see white Australians with t-shirts saying "Ethnic Cleansing Starts Here". At this stage, armed only with the limited media information I have, this is my opinion. If, however, you know the other side please feel free to comment.

My Background
I arrived in Australia as an immigrant in 1985. We weren't quite refugees but it was close - Rhodesia had become Zimbabwe and a tyrannical Prime Minister (Robert Mugabe) was starting to cause trouble for 'whites'. My Dad saw the writing on the wall in 1980 so we left and went to Malawi for a few years to make some money. We applied for Australian residency and after two years they told us we could come here, but there would be no welfare available for two years so we applied to 64 schools around Queensland - only one school answered, saying that they had a Junior Maths teacher position for my Dad (with his 20 years experience). Two things though - firstly, the job would be advertised right around Australia to make sure no Australian wanted the position and secondly if he got the job there would be no assistance in getting here. We would have to arrive on their doorstep before school started.

January 6, 1985 a family of four arrived at Brisbane Airport with 24 suitcases and (i think?) around $10,000. We stayed in an immigration hostel for a week and then made our way up to Toowoomba where I slept on a floor mattress for six months. We had no TV, second hand clothes and we lived in a converted squash court.

My mother finished her bridging degree in 6 months allowing her to work in Australia and then Dad was given a boarding house position which meant financially things were easier.

I am SO thankful that I was 'white'. As it was, my Rhodesian accent brought rejection from my classmates with 'go home wog we don't want foreigners here'. Luckily, I learnt to speak Australian before I moved schools at the end of the year and my assimiliation was all but complete.

Some News Reports
Police stand between mob and victims
Crowd agitators linked to neo-nazis
Probe on Mid-East family attack
Six arrested during beach violence
Beach erupts into violence
Mob violence spreads to Sydney's east
Second night of race violence
Reader Reactions (interesting)

An ambulance crew was attacked! That's just bullshit! Source

The story that disturbed me the most, and I can't find a reference for it, was that of the two men who were in the gold coloured car seen speeding away in the middle of the riot. The occupants were two students from Bangladesh - here trying to get an education, paying horrendous student fees and no obvious links to any terrorist organisation and PURELY based on the colour of their skin they have been mob attacked and chased out of their home and had their car damaged. If they had not been able to drive away they would have been killed. (I think it will be on A Current Affair tonight).

NOT OKAY PEOPLE! Most of the Australians seen in the riot footage are those working class thugs who think the world owes them a living and that they are hard done by having to share their beatutiful country with people who have different coloured skin. They must be Labor voters! (kidding :))

As an immigrant myself I appreciate my new home. I recognise it's world of opportunity, it's (usual) sense of justice, recognition of the rights of women and indigenous people (although that's another debate altogether). This is a wonderful, fair, rich, beautiful country. I have been an Australian citizen for 18 years now but I feel sick at what is happening in Sydney.

I left Africa to escape racial tension and violence over colour and creed. Get your act together and accept that everyone should be judged on their actions and their choices - not their skin.

t.

Hooray!
Sunday, Dec. 11, 2005 - 12:57 a.m.
My parents are back! There was a small delay on the flight (about an hour) but eventually they came through the arrival gate. David is taller than Mum now and Dad looks like a hippy with his long hair and sideburns. I hadn't cleaned the car but at least there were no dents or scratches on it.

They bought me a lovely bottle of Chloe perfume through duty free and handed me the last CD of photos for their blog .. thank goodness! It has been a huge hit but it's also been a lot of work - some 6 hours per CD of photos (8 CDs all together) plus daily updates. I kinda hinted to Mum a few weeks back that maybe she'd like to bring me some cigarettes thru duty free .. Haha fat chance she said.

I'm feeling really tired atm after talking on the phone until 4.30 this morning!

I'm trying to find a babysitter for one day before Xmas as i have had an invite from the new guy to spend the day with him. Might have to do a kid-swap with one of David's classmates.

Okay i need to sleep.

t.

Year in Review
Friday, Dec. 09, 2005 - 9:08 p.m.
Thanks lizzybiz!

Go to your Older Entries and find the first entry for each month of 2005. Post the first sentence of it in your journal, and that's your "Year In Review".

January
I generally don't make New Year's Resolutions so I thought instead I would look at 2004 - highlights, lowlights - and then decide what my accomplishments for 2005 will be.

(I'm going to review those accomplishments at the end of the year and see how many I achieved!)


February
I'm tired of dealing with my Mother. She hasn't actually done anything wrong, I just don't have the energy to make idle conversation with her.


March
"Computers are incredibly fast, accurate and stupid; humans are incredibly slow, inaccurate and brilliant; together they are powerful beyond imagination." -- Albert Einstein


April
We had a FANTASTIC day at Dreamworld yesterday!


May
Well as a few of your emails have suggested I have been unbelievably busy! A girlfriend of mine from 10 years ago flew up from Sydney last Wednesday desperate for my help.


June
I know I know unbelievably long time between entries. It has been the most frantic last few weeks with assignments and exams and trips to see the parents.


July
My parents left today for their six month trip around the world. I have created a blog for them which they will update when they're in civilisation.


August
So here I am, a recent import from another less-useful blog site. Obviously I'm keen to see my first entry so I will depart but rest assured there will be regular entries.


September
Many photos have been posted showing the devastation caused by Katrina, but what do you notice about the write-up between these two?


October
Me: i was telling my gf just the other day my ideal situation ... i have my place, he has his place.. we are exclusive sexually .. we are emotional significant others .. we are each others dates for functions ..but we have our own lives x days out of the week.


November

So there I was, minding my own business, wandering through my life, when some bleeding heart do gooder comes along and says "You shouldn't be here. You should be in 'Relationship' Land."


December
There is nothing quite like eating chocolate when you're down. I'm sure it's chemical because it actually makes me feel physically better. Whether it's cold from the fridge or warm from the cupboard there is a soothing calm in it that says "You'll be okay".

This is a pretty accurate summary! It catches the parents' holiday, Dreamworld, the do-gooder, frantic uni, emotional growth, Katrina, my arrival at LJ!

t.

Nothing More to Say
Friday, Dec. 09, 2005 - 3:48 a.m.
[Pasted from an email, source unknown but if you know please let me know! Feel free to paste if you agree.]

A lot has been said about how to prevent rape. Women should lock themselves in their houses after dark. Women shouldn't have long hair and women shouldn't wear short skirts, they shouldn't dare to get drunk at all.

Instead of that bullshit, how about:

If a woman is drunk, don't rape her.
If a woman is walking alone at night, don't rape her.
If a woman is drugged and unconscious, don't rape her.
If a woman is wearing a short skirt, don't rape her.
If a woman is jogging in a park at 5 am, don't rape her.
If a woman looks like your ex-girlfriend you're still hung up on, don't rape her.
If a woman is asleep in her bed, don't rape her.
If a woman is asleep in your bed, don't rape her.
If a woman is doing her laundry, don't rape her.
If a woman is in a coma, don't rape her.
If a woman changes her mind in the middle of or about a particular activity, don't rape her.
If a woman has repeatedly refused a certain activity, don't rape her.
If a woman is not yet a woman, but a child, don't rape her.
If your girlfriend or wife is not in the mood, don't rape her.
If your step-daughter is watching tv, don't rape her.
If you break into a house and find a woman there, don't rape her. And while we're at it, stop breaking into houses.
If your friend thinks it's okay to rape someone, tell him it's not, and that he's not your friend.
If your "friend" tells you he raped someone, report him to the police.
If your frat-brother or another guy at the party tells you there's an unconscious woman upstairs and it's your turn, don't rape her, call the police and tell the guy he's a rapist.
Tell your sons, god-sons, nephews, grandsons, sons of friends it's not okay to rape someone.
Don't tell your women friends how to be safe and avoid rape.
Don't imply that she could have avoided it if she'd only done/not done x.
Don't imply that it's in any way her fault.
Don't let silence imply agreement when someone tells you he "got some" with the drunk girl.
Don't perpetuate a culture that tells you that you have no control over or responsibility for your actions.

t.

Standing Corrected
Friday, Dec. 09, 2005 - 3:36 a.m.
*stands up*

"Hi everyone. My name's Tertia and I'm a shut-down-aholic. I would just like to say that regardless of the final outcome emotional risk isn't such a bad thing after all. Thankyou."

*sits down again*

t.

Not the Dad i know
Thursday, Dec. 08, 2005 - 4:19 p.m.
I just LOVE this photo of my Dad! He is normally dressed in a suit, muttering mathematical formulae under his breath and losing his keys nutty professor style. This photo represents the complete flipside of him!

They get back in two days!

(link fixed)

t.

.. and you thought I was a nerd?
Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2005 - 3:23 p.m.

Adam (brother) by email:

"What's Dad's email? I need to ask him for some methods of calculating the inversa of an nxn matrix, and to test some of our linear system equation solving code. Soon it will solve 3 eqns in 3 unknowns, and once that is working n eqns in n unknowns is not far behind. Only problem is the inverse of a 20x20 matrix takes 22 yrs at the moment. Originally it was 177.2 yrs and Simon made it faster by some clever coding, but this is about as fast as we can make it without using a different algorithm. We found an algorithm using permutations which should be O(n!) instead of O(x^n)."


Me by email:

"Dad's email address is [email] but you don't need it because the answer to your calculation is 42."

The scary thing is my Dad will have a real answer.

t.