Life Goes On

Visited Countries
Tuesday, Dec. 06, 2005 - 8:43 p.m.


create your own visited country map
t.
The " I " Survey
Monday, Dec. 05, 2005 - 9:31 p.m.

Thanks to catdraco for this:

THE �I� SURVEY
I Live: in Brisbane.
I Work: short term contracts.
I Talk: more on the phone than IRL.
I Wish: life was easier.
I Enjoy: getting home.
I Look: ordinary.
I Find: everything my son can't.
I Smell: the clothes in the dryer.
I Listen: less than I hear.
I Hide: my emotions.
I Pray: every night with my son.
I Walk: sometimes.
I Write: so I can stop thinking.
I See: the facts.
I Sing: badly.
I Laugh: loudly.
I Can Play: mind games.
I Learn: quickly.
I Dream: optimistically.
I Want: what I can't have.
I Cry: about four times a year.
I Burnt: too many bridges last year.
I Read: novels.
I Love: very few people.
I Sometimes: wish things were different.
I Touch: with trepidation.
I Fear: spiders and failing.
I Hope: for contentment.
I Break: very few rules.
I Eat: chocolate when I'm down.
I Quit: hating my mother.
I Drink: about 4 litres of water a day.
I Save: all my documents every month.
I Hug: very infrequently and not automatically.
I Meditate: when I'm driving.
I Play: Pogo.
I Miss: Wayne.
I Forgive: Wayne.
I Drive: to survive.
I Don�t: forget.
I Made: a mistake.
I Kiss: no-one.
I Believe: in myself.
I Owe: my life to the Salvation Army.
I Know: I'll graduate.
I Want: nothing more than I have.

t.

To Feed or Starve the Inner Child?
Monday, Dec. 05, 2005 - 1:31 a.m.
Our inner voice can really stuff things up for us sometimes. It manipulates how we interpret information. For example, if someone doesn't make plans for a second date a little voice will say something like "It's because I'm old/fat/boring/divorced/etc." Mine says "I'm not good enough" and I know that my inner voice comes from two things that happened when was a child.

Firstly, my biological parents split up when I was three. My brother stayed with my Mother and I was sent to my grandmother. Mum has since explained that it was because Adam (brother) had to attend school and my grandparents lived out in the country nowhere near a school but for many years (at least 25) I always 'heard' that it was because I wasn't good enough; that my Mum thought my brother was easier to look after or that she liked him more than she liked me.

Secondly, I was always told by my Mother that I didn't have brains, that I was average intelligence but that I did well at school because I worked hard. This has only been partly resolved in the last 12 months with my Mother saying that yes I am intelligent but I think she is just placating me because I had a tantrum about it. ;) Even when I chose to do a computing degree I didn't tell her until after I was enrolled and she said "Well if you find it's too hard for you then maybe you can change to something easier in second semester." Getting my degree in 6 months is as much about proving her wrong as it is about securing an employment future for myself and financial security for my son. In contrast, my (step)dad sent me a text on my first day of University: "Don't be nervous. Compared with what you have survived in the last ten years getting a degree will be a cinch." Thanks Dad! x

So, whenever I am rejected be it for a job or by someone my first thought is that I'm not good enough. It does not occur to me that maybe the job went to someone who had been doing the job already in a temporary capacity or that the romantic interest had decided to focus on work.

Try This. Hold your hand in the air and rotate it clockwise in a small circle. Keep rotating it, but bring your hand down to about waist level. Which way is it going now? Anti-clockwise. Same action, two different results based on the angle of view.

I need to learn to accept that the most obvious reason to me, fed by my inner voice, may not be the only conceivable reason.

t.

2005: Year of Emotional Growth
Sunday, Dec. 04, 2005 - 4:15 a.m.
Two statements have changed the way I think this year.

"There is more than one truth" meaning that everyone is entitled to have their own perspective of what is right for them and what is wrong for them. I have spent the last many years getting frustrated with people because they were 'obviously misguided' in their choices. Sounds stupid to me now but for a long time I could not see past my own truth.

Another epiphany occured when someone said to me "Do you want to be right, or do you want to happy?" Unless you're immediately faced with a situation it seems obvious to answer 'happy' but it is actually a tough choice! My context refers to my earlier post about someone making what I called a "selfish, conceited, gutless, spineless choice to make." Yes I know that is his truth and I had accepted that but when lamenting all this to a male friend he asked me the second question and that is a quandry. Do I remain stubborn, fruitlessly waiting for an apology from someone with a different truth, therefore being 'right', or do I suck it up, make contact and be happy even if it means I'm saying I was wrong?

Being right is important to me. I have a high moral fibre and I have very (too?) set ideas on what is right and wrong and what choices should be made by others. Standing my ground and digging my heels in until my point is acknowledged is my usual choice of action and although it often means I'm left heartsore or unhappy I am comforted by knowing I was right.

But now I'm faced with an alternative. Do I want to be right, or do I want to happy? That's a tough choice.

t.

Glass Completely Empty
Saturday, Dec. 03, 2005 - 5:17 p.m.
There is nothing quite like eating chocolate when you're down. I'm sure it's chemical because it actually makes me feel physically better. Whether it's cold from the fridge or warm from the cupboard there is a soothing calm in it that says "You'll be okay".

My parents get back a week today. I am really looking forward to seeing them - not only because I will be glad to know they're safe from world disasters but also because I want to be able to ring my Mother and tell her about my day. I want to go to their place and be nurtured and get centred. I want to spend time with them and let them know how wonderful they are and show them what an amazing daughter they have.

I'm feeling a little shattered today. Don't really want to discuss the details but let's just say that I have been let down by someone and they chose a course of action that I did not expect. I know that everyone has their own truth and that he has the right to make that decision but FUCK what a selfish, conceited, gutless, spineless choice to make. It's easy to sit back and say "One day they will realise ... " but what good is that? Two people are hurt, two life directions are changed, two egos are 'safe', two stubborn people feel justified and two people miss out on something wonderful. Basically it sucks.

*crawls back under her blanket and consumes more chocolate*

t.

Alien Baby!
Monday, Nov. 28, 2005 - 9:02 p.m.
Thank you catolist for your entry today!

She quotes Jim Sinclair and his attitude towards dealing with the diagnosis of autism for your child.

After you've started that letting go, come back and look at your loved one again, and say to yourself: "This is not what I expected and planned for. This is an alien child who landed in my life by accident. I don't know who this child is or what it will become. But I know it's a child, stranded in an alien world, without parents of its own kind to care for it. It needs someone to care for it, to teach it, to interpret and to advocate for it. And because this alien child happened to drop into my life, that job is mine if I want it."

t.

The Cheshire Cat
Sunday, Nov. 27, 2005 - 1:56 a.m.

It feels as though i haven't posted here for ages, well not a real post anyway. Just IM's and quizzes and shit. What does that mean?

It means i've been up to something!

And you will never, ever guess ;) Well one person will but she won't comment because she values her privacy *giggles*

All i can say is it's ... fascinating, makes me blush, makes me laugh, scary, inticing, liberating, clarifying and it feels so right. I last did this thing about six years ago and now I'm back and I LOVE IT!

t.

How did I ever become a geek?
Monday, Nov. 21, 2005 - 3:35 p.m.
My Mother has never heard of MSN Messenger but when i received an email from her saying that they are in LA with free internet in their room I thought I'd try and get her to use Web Messenger so we could chat. This is some of our conversation.

First, the technophobe:

Me says: HELLO!!!!!!
Me says: TYPE AND PRESS ENTER
Mum says: Huh?
Me says: hello
Mum says: How did you know I was stuffing around?
Me says: i know you're here!
Mum says: I have mail.
Mum says: How do we get each other again another time
Mum says: Oh no hang on I was just getting intructions...did not know I was supposed to be doing it! Wait.
Me says: i will email them
Mum says: email what
Me says: i have just emailed you the instructions!
Me says: lol
Mum says: Sheez
Mum says: You are too quick for me
Mum says: Oh Okay but how will you knwo if I am calling you? I may sit like a dupe at my screen and you are drinking coffee with [friend]?
Me says: LOL
Me says: you're funny
Mum says: Why?
Me says: do you see me listed on your msn messenger window?
Me says: not in this one, but in the other one
Mum says: Um
Mum says: What other one? this is the only one i have ever done!
Mum says: How will you see me if you are not there. Duh?
Me says: i stay online all the time
Me says: i will hear a beep when you come online
Me says: just sign in when you're checking email etc
Me says: and if i'm here we'll talk
Mum says: Oh, so if you do not answer me....then....I do not wait, huh?
Me says: well yeah but i will probably be around
Mum says: Got it!


AND THEN:

Me says: oh .. adam asked me to tell you ..
Me says: when you go to fiji he has a 4.5 kg bag he would like you to bring back for him . if thats okay
Mum says: Is this bag in Fiji?
Me says: Mum .. it's a joke .. 4.5 kgs???
Me says: shappelle corby? dad would have got that
Mum says: Don't get it. Is it an elephant joke?
Me says: LOL
Me says: shappelle corby .. 4.5kg bag .. in bali .. adam wants you to bring a 4.5kg bag from fiji??
Mum says: OOOOOOOOOHHHH. Okay, funny. We get no Aussie news so I had forgotten all about her.

*sigh*

t.

New Glasses
Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 - 3:01 p.m.
I finally have my new glasses!

New Glasses

(excuse the bad quality .. only have a webcam for taking pics).


I think it will take me a while to get used to the new lenses, this is the new prescription to cater for the keracatonus so we shall see .. SEE! HA! Get it?

t.

Flow
Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 - 11:12 a.m.

I used some cards yesterday. I guess they're called affirmation cards, but they're not the small ones that say "I'm wonderful!" Shuffle, thinking about an issue and then with your eyes closed run your hand over them until you find one that 'calls' to you. They are larger, with a theme on each (Confidence, Bravery, Love) and on the back they have 8 statements which you read through and pick one or two that apply. That becomes your mantra for the next week or so. I don't own them but I do them when I'm over at my friend's place.

Yesterday I got the "Flow" card. The two statements that I picked are:

I easily let go and trust.

I release anything that isn't in my highest good.

t.

Confirms my resolve never to try it ...
Saturday, Nov. 19, 2005 - 1:09 a.m.
A series of drawings done by an artist under the influence of LSD.

t.

*stretches, yawns and smiles secretively*
Saturday, Nov. 19, 2005 - 12:50 a.m.
The problem with being on holidays is that your mind becomes numb and you do nothing! Whilst this is great to rejuvenate the soul it does nothing for one's blog! I do have some soapbox rants that I'll get to in a couple of days, things I've been thinking about that I'll dump here but I'm too placid and relaxed to do them atm.

Went to Uni today and was part of a panel of students asked to select an outstanding member of the teaching faculty. We came up with three critieria - availability, relevance of information presented and ability to address equity* between students. I'm sure that a different panel of students would have selected different criteria but equity is a pet subject of mine. I was on the Staff/Student Equity Committee for two years and fall into three of their six identified equity groups.

I also picked up my project report but no results will be released until December 5.  I am confident of passing everything though so the wait is far less daunting than in previous semesters where I had subjects that I wasn't sure about.

There is other stuff happening in my life but the curse of the blog prevents me from posting! :D

t.

*Equity - "Equity means fairness and a fair go for all. At the Faculty of Information Technology (FIT), equity is defined in terms of the individual rights of staff and students and in terms of a broader goal regarding the pursuit of social justice. Treating people equitably does not mean treating them all the same. FIT strives to promote equality of outcomes for its staff and students by recognising that social disadvantage creates barriers to success, and that targeted attention to overcome these barriers is a necessary precursor to true equality."
Good News Day
Thursday, Nov. 17, 2005 - 12:41 a.m.
It's been a good news day. Started with a phone call last night from my brother saying that he got a job! Level 4 Programmer at his University where he has been studying for the last year. Fulltime, 'permanent' as much as any company can these days (guaranteed 12 months, probable renewal), financial and time assistance in completing his degree and a salary of $37,700.

I emailed my Mother immediately and she wrote back a couple of hours later to say that she cried with joy when she read it. Whilst I've been the rebellious, troublesome child who cost my parents money and made some bad choices my parents have always marvelled at my resilience and determination. Mum once said to me "You always land your bum in the butter" and it's true - life is never so difficult that I have no hope.

My brother Adam on the other hand has always found life to just be too hard. I am certain he is Aspergers, like David, but he refuses to discuss it. He has never been married, may have had a girlfriend years ago that I didn't know about and he currently boards with his best friend's Mum and has done so for at least 15 years. That family has adopted him, best friend Simon and his wife Sam made Adam Godfather to all three children. (I stupidly said, "Don't they have any other friends?" - he was not amused.) Adam lost his best and dearest friend to lung cancer at 29. They were soul mates and the bond between them was the strongest I've ever seen between two people who are not romantically involved.

Adam used to work as, in his words, a "satellite parking attendant" for Lockheed Martin. He was part of a team that would receive a satellite from NASA and then guide it into a spot in space where it would not be affected by space junk or gravitational forces. He only worked six months of the year (our summer I think?) and received a salary of $60,000 for that six months work. He unfortunately was fired from that job because the boss told him to move his monitor from the left hand side of his desk to the right hand side and he refused. He has not worked since then - some 6 years? He went back to Uni at the beginning of this year after seeing me doing my degree. Even though he was doing what he described as "a real IT degree" (fumes) I knew that he was motivated by me to resume studying.

So now you can see why my Mother cried with joy. She knows I will always make it in life but Adam was a real worry. Now it appears as though things are looking up for him.

Other good news is that I just now resumed contact with a gf that I haven't spoken to in 6 months after a stupid argument. I have realised recently that cutting people out of my life because I'm too scared to deal with them isn't very healthy. She emailed me out of the blue and instead of pressing the delete button which I would normally do I read it, and responded, and it looks as though we will slowly start to get our friendship back on track.

Last piece of good news - I received a postcard from my Mum today - "Dearest t, I will love you always and forever. Mum xxx"

Maybe that's my three good things. Do I have to prepare for the bad now?

t.