Life Goes On

Terrible I know .. but i found it funny :)
Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005 - 11:46 a.m.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

t.

* waits impatiently *
Wednesday, Nov. 09, 2005 - 1:02 p.m.
I went to see the school yesterday to find out what course of action was happening following the incident on Monday (see entry "I am Mother..." for background). They asked me to postpone my visit to the police station until after school today. They have two hours left. I have emailed the Principal and also sent him the photos that I took yesterday.

Hip
Shoulder

t.

I now call Australia Home
Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 - 9:45 a.m.

I am constantly reminded of the wonderful country that is Australia! An email from my University today sent to all commencing students for Summer 05/Semester 1 06.

"To students who are continuing next year:

Are you in need of financial assistance for 2006? You are invited to make your application early for the
$3 million of scholarships, bursaries and free computers available under the Equity Scholarships Scheme. This includes:

# Over 500 Commonwealth Learning Scholarships (CLS) valued at $2080 or $4161 (paid each year for up to 4 years)
# 350 Equity Scholarships valued at $2000
# Over 600 bursaries ranging in value from $500 to $1000 (paid in semester 2)
# 300 free computers, and
# Textbook bursaries valued at $200 each."

During my three years at University I have received each of those scholarships and am currently one of the lucky 500 to receive the $2080 each year. The monitor I use and the system that is now David's machine both were donations from the Uni in my first year.

This is where your income tax goes! I've lived in Africa where there is no income tax. But, before you pack your bags for some remote village on the promise of keeping your entire salary in your hand each week, think of this. Without paying income tax there are no free hospitals. There is little to no emergency service. There is no welfare. If you lose your job you are at the absolute mercy of family and friends. There is no charity. So I suggest you pay your 30%+ and thank whoever is responsible for bringing you into the world in this amazing country.

t.

I am Mother, hear me roar
Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 - 12:41 a.m.
I am so fucking livid right now. When I first found out about it I was contained, due mainly to my looming exam (which went fine btw) and the woman in front of me running out of petrol. After helping her out and then going to my exam and then doing the groceries and then picking david up and watching my taped shows and putting david to bed it is now midnight and I can finally reflect on it.

"It" is actually a plural - two bruises on my little son's body - one on his right shoulder and one on his hip. They are grazes with bruising; both about the size of a teacup. I feel like crying when I look at them. How did they happen? Some little punk at school pushed him over so hard that he fell face first onto the cement path. He was carrying his laptop at the time and that now has some fairly substantial scratches on it but appears to still be in working order.

So people we have property damage and assault occasioning bodily harm. This is more than just a "you shout I push" incident, boys will be boys, shake hands and get on with it. This is assault! What would happen if I went down the street and pushed someone over, bruising them in two places and damaging whatever they were carrying at the time? Well I can tell you from experience (and it's a long story starting with a slap across the face and ending in District Court) that I would be charged!

David has been suspended seven times from school. He even had to go to a four week boot camp where he was the youngest child. The "camp" catered for all school ages including high school and most of the students were there for dealing drugs. Most of david's suspensions have been for verbal abuse to the teachers, non-compliance, kicking furniture and on ONE occasion for hurting another child. I have never condoned his behaviour and have supported the school on most of those suspensions. They have worked for him - no incidents in over a year now whereas he was averaging one per term.

Thing is, he never did to any child what has been done to him today. This is not okay! Assault is not okay in ANY form but it is especially not okay that I send my eleven year old autistic child to school each morning believing that he will be safe from harm and will given an education only to pick him up in the afternoon and find bruises like that on him. I ask you .. if I gave him those bruises, what would happen to me??

I know the child in question, I have met him and found him to be rude, sly and mean. Interestingly, he is from a theoretically "good" family and by that I mean white, middle-class, two parents. It took all my self control today to NOT ring his home and abuse the fuck out of his parents. Luckily I appreciate the importance of following procedures, jumping the hoops and understanding the pecking order. It's the only way I made it through my 30+ court cases.

I've rung the school, they're looking into it, I'm going up there tomorrow and God help them if they don't do something about it. I want that child disciplined - in the very least he should get the detention equivalent because at least then his parents will receive a letter of explanation and they might just realise that their bootiful liddle boy isn't so fucking perfect after all. Let their cheeks burn when they get the call from the Principal saying "We're having problems with your son again" and "Really, I think it would be best if you relocated him". I've been through this and David did much less.

I've also rung the local police station and if I don't get any validation from the school I will investigate pressing assault charges on that child. Mind you, the last time the school pissed me off I had the Department of Education onto them so fast that I got the response I wanted before the school day ended. Yes, I know sometimes I have been known to go overboard and do the "rhinoceros stamping out the fire" bit but this is different. It is not acceptable that my child should come home from school with bruises on him. We're not living in some seedy part of LA .. this is Brisbane, Australia and my child deserves to get a safe education.

t.

Will you just study already!
Monday, Nov. 07, 2005 - 9:49 a.m.


"When you wish upon a falling star, your dreams can come true. Unless it's really a meteorite hurtling to the earth which will destroy all life. Then you're pretty much hosed no matter what you wish for. Unless it's death by meteor."

Source

t.

Procrastination is an Art Form
Sunday, Nov. 06, 2005 - 11:54 p.m.

My house is CLEAN! It hasn't been this clean in months - once that uni week 6 hits I just can't seem to do those time consuming things like vacuuming and scrubbing the shower. Inspired by my recent house-sit I really got into it today. I haven't 'spring' cleaned as in cleared out cupboards and junk etc (I intend to do at least some of that over my break) but I did the shower, dusting and vacuuming. Add a little fragrance oil and some incense and it feels like I've moved house.

It was also the only procrastination activity I allowed myself as a replacement to study for my exam tomorrow. Hang on, blogging might be the other one? I'll now do an all-nighter, sleep tomorrow after dropping david at school and then do a little revision in the afternoon. My exam is at 5.30pm - think of me :)

t.

Rejuvenation does wonders for the soul
Sunday, Nov. 06, 2005 - 12:59 a.m.
I have been housesitting for a friend all weekend and it's been wonderful! Three bedrooms, CLEAN, polished floors, fridge and cupboards full of food and pay TV. I've been feeding the cat occasionally as requested but other than that it's been very relaxing, like a holiday home. It has a large verandah overlooking a leafy garden and french doors so I've spent most of my time out there. I generally don't like living in places that aren't fully screened on account of my severe arachnophobia but as yet there have been no dramas. *shudders at the thought*

There are SEVEN different flavours of potato chips in this house! There is also chocolate-flavoured soap, two types of cream cheese, three types of icecream, filter coffee and a beautiful modern kitchen with a rangehood! Small pleasures, even daily experiences, for some I know but to this almost-finished-her-degree student who has not worked regularly for the last two years these are absolute luxuries.

My first exam is on Monday evening. It's not the one I'm worried about - Information Systems Consulting - something I've been doing for a few years now and based on the marks I've already received for other pieces of assessment I'm confident of passing the unit. The exam I am a little worried about and will have to study for is my Advanced SQL on the 15th.

My quote for building the database system over Christmas went to the client on Friday afternoon. I'm fairly sure I will get the contract because the contact has confidence in me after I did their IT training. It will be a challenging project but once I get my head around the design then I should be okay.

I spoke to my parents on Friday and we have all agreed not to go to Melbourne for Christmas. Mum said that she is already feeling travel weary and the thought of coming home for nine days and then taking off again doesn't appeal. As you know I was struggling with getting there anyway - a choice between $800 in flights or $400 on a 36 hour bus trip. My budget from Mum was $500 and it's hard to justify an extra $300 out of my budget for 5 days away. Although I (halfheartedly) protested Mum insisted that I can have the $500 anyway as my Christmas present. She suggested that I could use it to take david camping in the New Year but I think I'll keep it in my savings account as a buffer - at least until my scholarship payment comes through.

I am constantly amazed at the compassion one receives from people around the globe when diary entries are made that are a little sad or emotional. My blog was always intended as a place to just dump the thoughts in my head, especially when Wayne was alive, so that I could function without them swimming around. But now, I feel bonded to people firstly from my diaryland blog and now more recently LJ. Even people that I have known for years on yahoo and msn have chatted to me in the last couple of days. Difference is, I don't have affairs with mine. :D

I'm trying not to think about it, but Wayne's second anniversary is coming up.

When it happened.
First anniversary.

I just have to forget about it until after my exams.

t.

Thanks for the Memories!
Thursday, Nov. 03, 2005 - 12:09 p.m.
Timing is a funny thing. Here I was, a few hours ago, crying because I missed my parents and then the mailman just delivered FIVE postcards from them!

1. Central Park - T & D, Grand Central Park looking Uptown (North). The big lake is called "The Reservoir". "New York, New York, a wonderful town. The Bronx is up and the Battery is down. The people ride in a hole in the ground." - from 'On The Town' Frank Sinatra and Gene Kelly. Love Grand/Dad.

2.Chrysler Building - We are loving America! One day you will both do this, I am sure. Love Mum.

3. Empire State Building (at night) - T & D, All dressed up but nowhere to go. Now again after 9/11, the highest building in NY. Love Grand/Dad.

4. New York Cityscape - T & D, The 2 twin towers in the background dates this photo to pre 2001. A spectacular day. Love Grand/Dad.

5. Statue of Liberty - Dear D & T, The view that assailed new emigrants in the late 19th early 20th centuries giving them new hope for the future. Love Grand/Dad.

t.

Better Late Than Never
Thursday, Nov. 03, 2005 - 9:38 a.m.

I miss my parents. I only just realised it today. They have been OS since 1 July on the trip of a lifetime. I received an email from my Dad this morning thanking me for something and I replied with this:

"You're welcome! It's the least I can do for the two people that have stuck by me through all these years. It feels good to finally be a contributing member of this family instead of a drain and a liability.

I love you both and miss you both so much. This trip has been as much of a bonding experience for me as it has been for you two. In the photos you look so much in love! It is wonderful to see. I didn't realise just how much you both meant to me until you weren't available for a phone call, a loan or a visit. There have been times in these last months when I just wanted to hop in the car and drive to [your home] and be spoilt by you both .. time away from David, my meals cooked and unconditional love. "

It was at this point that I started crying. And there I go again. Dammit.

Just a few of the things I'm grateful to my parents for:

* Growing up in Africa for the experience, but leaving in enough time to have a life elsewhere.
* My Dad for bringing us to Australia when Mum wanted to go to England.
* Ensuring I got a great education even though they were so broke when they first arrived in Aus.
* Only having two children so that my brother and I could have the best of everything.
* Finding the money to take me on trips to Austria, France, Germany, England.
* Not splitting up.
* Taking me to school debates even when they knew my team would lose horribly.
* Disowning me when I was with Wayne. This was actually a good thing because they drew a line in the sand which played on my conscience - they did not condone my choices and nor should they have.
* Paying for and being at my wedding even though they knew it was the stupidest thing I could do.
* Paying for me to stay at the refuge for 12 weeks after I left Wayne.
* Holding me when I cried and cried when David was kidnapped.
* Supporting me through all the court cases. Dad actually took time off work to come to Brisbane to be with me.
* Gathering information from their teaching resources when I got David's Aspergers diagnosis.
* Telling me about students they've taught with Aspergers and how they have succeeded in life.
* Supporting me financially when I left my marriage with a swimming bag and nothing else.
* Setting me up in my new flat when I was bankrupt, homeless, childless, jobless, hopeless.
* Taking a credit risk so that I could have a mobile phone.
* Inviting me to the family home when I was down - cooking all my meals, entertaining David, letting me sleep in.
* Trusting me again after all I did to let them down.
* Leaving work immediately to drive David and I to the hospital when Wayne committed suicide.
* Being there when I told David his Father was dead.
* Taking my side when my brother was condescending and rude.
* Encouraging me to finish my degree ten years after they thought I would.

I miss them so much. I just want them to come back safely. I want to talk to them on the phone and visit them and tell them about my life. I want to ring them with good news, bad news, boring news. I want their opinions of the Industrial Relation Laws, the Falconio Trial and the water crisis. I really need to get to Melbourne for Christmas. I don't think I want to spend Christmas in Brisbane alone.

t.

Doubt Means No!
Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2005 - 5:46 a.m.
So there I was, minding my own business, wandering through my life, when some bleeding heart do gooder comes along and says "You shouldn't be here. You should be in 'Relationship' Land." So he turns my shoulders around in the opposite direction and pushes me towards this unfamiliar territory with idle promises of 'i love you' and 'i've waited for you my whole life'.

So I reach a train line. I hear the alarm bells. I see all the lights flashing at me. Hell, even the boom gates came crashing down. But did I listen to them? Of course not! Like some "Jackass" extra I went ahead and tried to cross that line, believing that all the alarm bells and warning signs were merely my imagination, my insecurities and my baggage. "It's Okay! There's no sugar!" /end Pepsi Max Advert.

Well people, the Train of Stupidity hit me hard. I now lay bruised, but not broken on the tracks, gazing at the sky and laughing maniacally at my own ridiculous blindness.

Let's just say that it ended with a blowjob for him and clarity for me.

It has once again been proven that character judgement is not my forte. Remind me of this again when I have my head filled with stupid ideals and I ignore ALL the warning signs??

t.