Life Goes On

<3 Trust Funds
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2005 - 10:49 a.m.
Great News! David got approved for his laptop!

Public Trust rang me to say that they have approved the purchase of it with the lock and will reimburse me for the extra contents insurance.

t.

Please. Say it isn't so.
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2005 - 7:17 p.m.
Recently, I wrote an entry about my technology challenged parents and their complete misunderstanding of the benefits of having a digital camera on their around-the-world holiday.

Well, the horror continues. The second CD arrived, more AVIs, more "too dark please delete" but worse - the ENTIRE collection of photos from the first cd were also burnt to the second cd! They obviously didn't delete the memory card when they downloaded the first time.

*weeps*

Both my parents are Maths teachers and where do all good Maths teachers stay when they're visiting Greece?

Here!

t.

Somewhere over the rainbow perhaps?
Thursday, Aug. 18, 2005 - 12:28 a.m.
So Ms-Do and I were lamenting the lack of propective men available to us.

The internet dating thing is a farce. A profile supposedly sums up everything about you or it's edited by you to reflect the person you think someone wants to meet. Relationships need to develop over time with someone that has known you in many modes - Mother, worker, stressed, happy, as a woman.

One of the reasons why internet 'relationships' seem to work is because when you talk to them online or on webcam you are "plugged into them" - sitting down, comfy, with your coffee and cigarettes, kids occupied, dishes done and you can give them 100% attention. They don't see you stressed or try to ask questions when you're juggling dinner or fighting with a child.

So then I began to think about what I am looking for. I really truly believe that I will never get married again. I actually don't even see sharing a house on a permanent basis with a man. I like watching my reality TV and sitting up until 2am playing internet games or writing to my blog. I don't want to compromise all my time for someone. So why not take the good parts of interneting and make it work in a real life situation? I want a permanent boyfriend / life partner / significant other. We would be committed to each other sexually. We would be each other's partner for work functions or parties. We would spend a couple of nights a week together - sleeping over, maybe one of the weekend nights. BUT ... we would also have our own places, own cars, own friends, own interests, own bank accounts.

So what is my list of requirements?

* He must support himself financially. He doesn't have to support me - I've never been supported by a man and could never be - but I don't want to have to pay for him!
* He mustn't have a problem with alcohol. No history of alcoholism or even getting drunk often. I find alcohol abuse intolerable in any form.
* He must be a good citizen! That means not parking in disabled spaces, he votes, he does his tax correctly.
* He must be single at least 2 years and NOT separated. There is no reason for anyone to be separated for more than six months which is the minimum time before you can apply for divorce. You're either single, married, or divorced!
* He must have sexual experience - i.e. has explored his interests and had enough partners that he won't feel tempted by someone else. He also needs to embrace and appreciate my sexuality.
* He must have a backbone - not needy, or seeking a Mother. At the same time, I must serve a purpose in his life. He can't be so independent that I am superfulous to need.
* He must have male friends. I don't mean "He can't have female friends" - it's just that I am always wary of people who claim to have NO friends - there is usually a reason for that.
* He must drive if he is physically able. I don't care whether he has a car or not but I don't want to be his taxi service without a legitimate reason.

Everything I haven't listed are either obvious (accepts my child, my desire to work and my religious beliefs) or unimportant (physical features, age, occupation). Am I really asking too much??

t.

The goods and bads if you please
Monday, Aug. 15, 2005 - 12:59 p.m.
After another panic attack about the plain crash in Greece (where my parents are atm), ms-do has given me a mantra:

"My parents are on holidays. They are divinely protected and will return happy, healthy and safe. I can stop worrying about them."

This is much healthier than "There's been a plane crash/terrorist bombing/landslide/tsunami and I'm sure my parents were in it!"

Last couple of days have been bedlam. Spent over 13 hours fixing a friend's computer, left it working, but now it won't boot up! Spent all day Saturday at a birthday party for a friend of David's - nasty boys some of them were! I just don't know how parents can condone and not discipline nasty, rude, inconsiderate boys. Just as well David wasn't sleeping over because I wouldn't have allowed him to be left alone with that boy.

On the verge of flicking a friend as I'm known to do. I have a policy of "cheap to give, experience to receive" and any transaction (friendship, business, social) that doesn't meet that requirement isn't entertained. It must be easy for me to give time/knowledge and it must be appreciated. Any other combination is bad for one party. This person isn't a close friend - just an acquaintance - but my patience has run out and I can see through her motivations. She is only interested in seeking me out when she needs help, when the chips are down, but has no further association with me when her life is fine. I'm not a fucking counsellor and I'm not a fucking charity! "If you can't handle all of me you can't have any of me".

t.