Life Goes On

Damn Whipper Snappers
Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005 - 8:46 a.m.
Speeding (in cars) is one of my pet peeves. I can't say I've never done it but I'm not one of those who always goes 9 kms over the limit and thinks it's okay.

I was driving back from the school this morning in the 40 km school zone. I was waiting to turn into the main road when a young bloke in a red car came driving fast down the street towards the 40km zone. He would have been doing about 70km, maybe more.

I put up four fingers to show him that he was coming up to a 40 zone. He returned to me the one finger salute. I sighed thinking "These whipper snappers will never learn".

As I peered down the street waiting for the traffic to subside so that I could enter the flow, I saw that Mr Red Car had been pulled over the Police patrol that sometimes checks the 40 zones! There were three cops surrounding the car ... I laughed ... very hard!

t.

Oops ...
Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005 - 12:12 a.m.
Me: Simon Baker's on TV tonight. He is so hot!
David: What's he from?
Me: The Guardian, you know that show I love .. it should be back on TV again soon.
David: Stop fantasising!
Me: No .. he's married.
(awkward pause)
David: I meant stop fantasising about the show coming back on TV.

t.

Non-Depression Action
Tuesday, Jul. 26, 2005 - 10:29 a.m.
Went to Toowoomba on Friday to deliver the computer to the in-laws. The installation and internet connection went smoothly and I think that's because I bought the computer from a "proper" computer place rather than privately. Ron (Wayne's Father) is thrilled with it and spent the weekend checking his email and tentatively surfing the net. I even managed to install a Tiger Woods golf game which ran perfectly so he is very happy.

My Dad continues to update their Holiday Blog with brief yet informative and sometimes humorous memoirs. I get the feeling that he is getting more out of this holiday than Mum is - mind you, Mum and I are fighting via email atm so that might why I'm not getting her impressions of it.

I am worried that David might suffer from depression. Last week he was very down and seemed to have lost his gumption. I had a chat to him about it and he said that he felt his gumption is what got him into trouble at school and that he feels as though he always has to be perfect around me! Talk about parental guilt. We chatted about it for ages, I explained to him that I have a couple of deal breakers (violence, disrespect and derogatory remarks against women) and the rest is flexible. I asked him if that was okay and he grinned cheekily and said "Hell yeah!" knowing that normally 'not swearing' is an offence. I think he's going to be okay but I am going to have to keep an eye on him especially during adolescence and maybe seek advice if it continues.

t.

A Forbidden Topic?
Friday, Jul. 22, 2005 - 1:04 a.m.
I have a great deal of respect for our Australian Prime Minister, John Howard. I know many Aussies don't like him but I think he has done a great deal for our country, taking us away from a high national debt and welfare mentality to a more progressive, healthier economy. Yes, I know, don't talk politics and yes there are many sides to it but I respect him.

I have just been watching him on the TV at a press conference in London - he speaks really well - especially in answering unrehearsed press questions. Compared to Tony Blair who was sharing the press conference, John Howard spoke cleary and eloquently for at least five minutes without any preparation. When he had finished Tony Blair just said "I agree 100% with that" - the polite equivalent of "what he said".

This shows that John knows his policies clearly and is passionate about what he believes is best for Australia. Yes, I voted for the Liberal Party (of which he is the Leader) and I will continue to vote for the Liberal Party for probably my entire adult life however the chosen leader does make a difference and hopefully when John Howard retires we will have an equally successful, competent, passionate Prime Minister to replace him.

t.

It's all good
Wednesday, Jul. 20, 2005 - 12:04 p.m.
Uni has started again. I was nervous in the morning, wondering if I should change units because the one unit I had selected, IS Consulting, required extensive group work - something I'm not very good at. I didn't know anyone that was doing the unit and had the usual concerns about "What if no-one wants to work with me?"

When we had to break into the groups however four guys came over and sat down next to me and asked to be in my group! I was so relieved! They had all been in my unit last semester and know that I am outspoken, opinionated etc but that's apparently why they picked me. Group work is less of a concern in final year because if someone isn't passionate about their degree they're unlikely to make third year, so I'm feeling a bit better.

My parents are having a bizarre time OS. They nearly got arrested crossing the Russian border and now whenever they check their email in Poland the websites are all in Polish so they can't work out which is the reply button and which is the send button!

I am going to Toowoomba this weekend to deliver the computer that I've sourced for Wayne's parents. I'm really happy with the one I've found - it should do them for a while. Wayne's Mum (Kay) disapproves of the whole "spending money on a computer" business whereas Ron (Wayne's Dad) is really looking forward to getting it and can't wait to get on the internet and start using email. I don't like being in the middle of an unresolved marital dispute so hopefully they'll contain it when we're there.

t.

Proud to be 34
Friday, Jul. 15, 2005 - 10:36 p.m.
I've had a great birthday! Dropped David off at school today - he said to me "It's your birthday! I can spend the day with you if you like?" Um ... no thanks anyway. Went down to Stones Corner and had bacon and eggs, two lattes, read a book in the sun. Bought a new shirt and a pair of sunglasses, some stationery for Uni next week. Ms-Do rang me and sang Happy Birthday to me! Bought a jam doughnut, watched Dr Phil and relaxed. Picked David up, did some more shopping. Came home and Ms-Do came over with some gorgeous tulips and a Birthday hug and kiss! An email from Mum and Dad, a couple of texts, a couple of IMs and I feel very loved!

t.