Life Goes On

Nothing Horrible Happening
Monday, May. 09, 2005 - 9:36 a.m.
Here is a CNN story regarding a student who was suspended for 10 days because he was using a mobile phone at school. That, in itself, is ridiculous considering all the other possible reasons for suspension (violence, vandalism, drugs) but what makes this worse is the student was speaking to his Mother who is currently serving in the military in Iraq!

If you would like to send the Principal a message disagreeing with his decision you can do so at [email protected] or other Board Members at [email protected] and [email protected].

Went to Toowoomba for the weekend ... heard all about my parents trip around the world - SO many countries, 6 months, SO much money. They're not doing South America, Antarctica or Alaska but everything else is covered. Mum is lending me her brand new Toyota Echo car for the 6 months they're away so that will be great!

In other good news, I finally received my replacement British Passport! This is a huge thing for me - Wayne had it last, stole it from me and tried to blackmail me with it numerous times. British passports are difficult to get with the eligibility criteria but it's so important because it means I can work anywhere in Great Britain or Europe (EN) without a work visa! It's the equivalent of a green card for the US. Very exciting. I am going to try and get David one now so maybe working in London after David finishes school is a real possibility.

After my trip to Toowoomba, I think my parents actually like me again. They've always loved me, that was obvious, but I think they actually like me as a person now. We had a really positive visit with lots of talk of the future and it was great.

t.

Are You in my Dream Team?
Thursday, May. 05, 2005 - 11:04 p.m.
My son is doing object oriented and event driven programming! He called me into his room today and showed me this game he is making, ping pong style thing, but he was saying things like "and the ball has a click event which adds one to the score and then the if statement works out if you have any lives left." I didn't even start programming until I was 13 and that was just procedural B.A.S.I.C. My OO stuff didn't arrive until, well now.

I heard a quote by Venus Williams today. She said "Surround yourself with your Dream Team". It was during an interview that she did with Serena about a book they've written focusing on self esteem in teenage girls. The quote basically means that we must only allow ourselves to be in the company of, or under the influence of, people who care about us. Each person in your Dream Team must believe you are wonderful just as you are; each person must love and cherish and accept you. Anyone that doesn't has to be fired from that support team. You are the boss of your own team. Likewise, to be a member of someone else's, you need to be invited and then understand the conditions otherwise face being fired by them!

It's interesting how our Dream Team changes over time. Ten years ago my gf from Sydney (that was here recently) was about the only member of that team. Now, I don't see her as an eligible member. It was as if she didn't like who I had become, she didn't accept the new me. Sure, I have my faults and 'areas of improvement' but everyone does. My Mother never used to be on my Dream Team, although she thought she was, but I'm beginning to allow her back on "conditional membership". I also need to accept the way she is, and not wish she was different.

The new season of The Amazing Race has begun! For those of you in US we've just seen the first episode with Rob and Amber in it! I love this show .. have watched it since Episode One, Season One.

t.

I'm getting off the rollercoaster
Tuesday, May. 03, 2005 - 3:29 p.m.
Well as a few of your emails have suggested I have been unbelievably busy! A girlfriend of mine from 10 years ago flew up from Sydney last Wednesday desperate for my help. She had accepted a contract to build a database and was charging $18,000. Unfortunately she realised 5 days before it was due that she couldn't do it. I have been working on it for 18 hours a day since Wednesday night and finally handed it back to her Sunday night. Add to that her emotional breakdown and our "differences in opinion" plus 4 hours sleep a night and I hope you can forgive me not updating here.

I think one of the biggest issues arose from her expectations of me - what I was capable of and who I was. Last time we spent time together I was a mousy, shy, quiet, introverted and very unhappily married person. I never spoke up, never spoke my mind or stood up for myself. People walked all over me because I allowed that to happen. When she arrived, she found this assertive/aggressive person who speaks up when she's pissed and, unfortunately as is my nature, sometimes doesn't speak up but rather shows her annoyance in non-verbal ways. My gf is also a fairly strong minded person so the combination was not condusive to working on a project together.

Anyway, it's done, it's over, there are still issues about it but my work here is done.

Uni is going well ... I aced an exam last week that I failed last semester (repeating the subject) and none of my assignments look to be late or a potential fail. David is going okay at school - they have suggested he take two afternoons off a week to help him with stress levels and that seems to be working.

After a week of takeaway and break in routine we are both looking forward to returning to normality. Today was the start of that and I intend to continue it for a while for both of our sakes. Now to just get the morning walks happening again with ms-do and my life will be back where I like it.

t.