Life Goes On

Um ... Hooray?
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005 - 1:14 p.m.
My front screen door is fixed. Hooray!

My landlord didn't put the rent up. Hooray!

My fridge is working. Hooray!

School is back on Monday. Hooray!

I'm seeing D on Monday. Hooray!

So ... no more worrying. At least for 48 hours.

Hooray!

t.

Up .. then down again.
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005 - 2:40 a.m.
I'm feeling better about my living situation. I just checked out the Residential Tenancies Authority website which is the governing body that legislates for tenants and landlords.

It told me that I am on a periodic agreement now. This means that if my landlord wants to increase the rent, he has to give me two months written notice AND the rent increase is not applied for that two months. Also under a periodic agreement (provided I haven't done anything wrong) he also has to give me two months notice to vacate!

This is great news because if either of these two things happen, I will have two months to consider my options. This is much better than the two weeks I thought I would have.

Win on the swings, lose on the roundabout unfortunately. I have a horrible feeling that my fridge is about to break down! Things aren't very cold and it has that "almost fucked" fridge smell. I have no capacity to replace it and I don't want to ask my parents. Thing is, it is so hot in Brisbane atm and I just bought groceries! Dammit. I will have to see how it is tomorrow.

t.

Cut, Stick, Melt
Friday, Jan. 21, 2005 - 1:09 p.m.
I'm often glad I only have one child, but more so at the moment.

Yesterday I picked up David's bookpack from school. $100 worth of workbooks, exercise books and stationery. All 17 books must now be covered so that they can last the 10 months of use. All the stationery must be named. I've been working on this for about two hours and I'm halfway through. It's a really warm Summer day. I think we'll escape to the pool in about an hour.

t.

Don't Fuck with the Baldies
Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005 - 9:19 a.m.
I have a silent power that only those closest to me know about; I am emotionally the strongest person I know.

There is a person on the outskirts of my life atm that is starting to bug me. She doesn't know me very well, obviously, otherwise she wouldn't be behaving this way. She thinks I'm nothing more than an overweight school Mom with no intestinal fortitude. She thinks that she can bully me and push me around like she does with her ex-husband, ex-boyfriends, other females, etc. Little does she know. Little does she realise who she is dealing with and quite frankly I would suggest that she be afraid.

I am not a revengeful person. That's not to say that I never seek revenge but it's just not my usual plan of attack. I firmly believe that "revenge is a dish best served cold". This keeps the person who has done me wrong guessing, wondering, worrying if and when I will exact my anger and how I will do it.

I don't always fight. Sometimes I choose to let little battles pass me by. I give them one to allow for a false sense of security. But the fact is - when I choose to fight, I never lose.

The last person I chose to fight ended his own life. I wonder how far this new problem will go? I really should delete this entry in case she turns up dead. LOL!

(I'm kidding)

BTW, the title of this is taken from a statement that Wayne used to say all the time and it's a tribute to him so if you don't understand it, don't be overly concerned! :)

t.

* does the happy dance *
Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005 - 12:51 a.m.
Oh yeah and some good news! I heard from D on Monday. He had been in a corporate court case all last week and apologised for not contacting me. I should be having lunch with him next week hopefully!

t.

Feeling Powerless
Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005 - 12:01 a.m.
I am seriously considering my living arrangements. I love my current rental unit - it's nothing flash and it's a little small but it's close to David's school, it's in a quiet street and is currently within my budget. The problem is my landlord. Dennis is a nice enough person - I've been here four years and he gave me a chance when I moved in. He knew I was coming from a women's refuge, he furnished the place for me and let me pay my bond off over a couple of weeks. The problem now is that he NEVER fixes anything (even though he is a builder) and he keeps saying things like "When you pay more rent I'll make more repairs". He has also said "My daughter-in-law is looking for a place ... this would be perfect for her". I really can't afford more rent plus the thing that bugs me the most is that I feel bullied by him! I don't allow anyone else in my life treat me with disdain (except by Mother but that a v. long story) and I find it really hard to accept. I guess it's the control thing again - I like to be able to control everything in my life so that I can only blame myself when it fails. I feel so vulnerable to him. I hate the fact that he can waltz into MY home every two weeks and give me notice to vacate!

I have investigated other options. Our Dept of Housing has a five year waiting list for this area. Community Housing may be able to help but even then I wouldn't have much say in area or state of the place. Other rental places are available but at higher rent plus there is no guarantee that it will even solve my problem. This place has many positives including location and security (when my door gets fixed!). I also need an internal laundry because all my washing and drying is done at night. I just can't seem to find that in my price range.

The thought of moving makes me feel ill, but the thought of having to deal with a bully every two weeks when he picks up the rent is also sickening. I guess the temporary solution is to just avoid my landlord and leave my rent in cheque form in the mailbox so that I don't have to see or speak to him. Very cowardly act which isn't like me but it's the only solution I can see in the interim.

Only 12 or 18 more months until the end of my degree. Then I will finally have the income which will empower me with more choices. I have never lived on this little amount of money before. I have always worked fulltime or part-time - sometimes cash, sometimes through the tax department but it's tough. I only ever have the right number of meals in the cupboard and I constantly have to calculate how much milk/bread/margarine I have to ensure I make it last until payday. Shopping involves mentally calculating my total spend and postponing non-essential items for another day.

I recently gave up some very lucrative cash work and I'm seriously considering returning to it. I just have to remember why I gave it up in the first place.

t.