Life Goes On

Perhaps I'm not destined to be a programmer
Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004 - 10:40 p.m.
Me says: it took me a whole year of uni to realise you were gay.. which is great because it means i don't define you by your sexuality
G says: really?
Me says: i guess I realised when flirting with you during 112 assignments didn't get me anywhere! you just scowled at me
G says: YOU WERE FLIRTING?
Me says: I flirt with any male if I think I can get out of java
G says: i had no idea you were even tying to flirt.. i was just thinking "this girl really has *no* idea"
Me says: well that too

t.

Another Lesson Learned
Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004 - 9:24 p.m.
Kuinip told me once that "Emotion is a reaction. Feeling is a choice."

Emotions are short term and can change rapidly. Someone says "I'm so emotional" and it usually passes when their exam has finished or they get their period.

Feelings are long term. They are born and nurtured. They take longer to die. They have a lifeforce. Grief. Sorrow. Happiness. Love. They do not start or end at a whim. They can take months, even years to form and the same to fade away.

When things happen in my life I try not to react emotionally to them. It is easy to experience fleeting moments of happiness (when your sports team wins) or have a wave of jealousy/hurt/anger when someone betrays you. Reacting to this temporary emotion can be detrimental and inaccurate. I try not to do this. I try to just stop all the waves of emotion and push them away and then look at the situation for what is really is.
There is ALWAYS a bigger picture.
There is ALWAYS two sides, maybe more.
I try to pull away from the situation and see it in it's entirety and take in all of the contributing factors.

What part did I play?
What did I do right?
What did I do wrong?
What would I change?
What have I learnt?
How do I FEEL about this?

It is so easy to play victim... sit back and cry 'poor me'. It's much harder to analyse my own behaviour and how I contributed to the situation I find myself in. Victim status is tiring. It helps me cope but I've been one for too many years of my life and now I just refuse to go there.

"You must have control of the authorship of your own destiny. The pen that writes your life story must be held in your own hand." -- Irene C. Kassorla

t.

Bouncing Back .. .slowly.
Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 - 3:47 p.m.
I haven't written for a couple of days, I know, slacker that I am. I have found it increasingly difficult over the last week to function normally. I hit the 9-week Uni semester wall on Monday and struggled to make it through to Friday. The problem with Semester 2 is that we have effectively be going for 13 weeks (Semester 1) and then 9 weeks of second semester with only a quick two week break in the middle which doesn't really provide enough time for anything more than a restocking of stationery and purchasing of text books. Granted this semester has been better than last because I've dropped to three subjects but add to that David's suspension and it really is no wonder that I'm feeling stressed.

I'm okay... no more assessment due for a couple of weeks (although obviously I'm going to be working on it now) but if I actually had anything due then I would be in a bad way. Only four weeks left of semester then three weeks of exams, then 14 weeks off! Woot! Sure I'll be working over the Summer Break but really the work I'll be doing is less stressful than Uni and more flexible. I have cancelled my enrolment in Summer semester and intend to just relax, work a little and rejuvenate.

T was over last night and we faced a few challenges. David was in a stupid, childish mood and was speaking to me very badly. T has a really good way with him and mostly diffused the situation. Secondly, we knew we only had about 14 hours together because he had to fly to Sydney this morning for work. This was disappointing for both of us as we usually spend Saturday together plus it was supposed to mean an early night, but that didn't eventuate. *giggle* The third challenge was that he told me that he knew I had had some nicotine since seeing him last ... he could smell it (I was suprised 'cause it was only a small amount) and although he was really understanding I could tell that he was disappointed. Sure, it's "legal" but it's still an addiction and it must be hard for someone to watch someone they care about choose to destroy themselves with a substance for no apparent reason! I'm back on the patches today with a new resolve to stay off those fucking coffin nails. :(

Despite these faced challenges T and I still had a great night. We've known each other for four months and despite the one "realignment of emotions" we haven't actually had an argument. We seem to be able to work out our emotional shit (expectations, feelings, *shudder*) and express them clearly which is great. There is the possibility that I'm the only one who feels heard and he actually writes in his blog about how I'm a self-absorbed, inconsiderate bitch who always gets her way ... but I don't think so. ;)

One of the secrets of friendship is accepting them in all situations. Last night was fraught with problems but it was managed and dealt with and we still had a great night.

t.

As unique as all the rest
Thursday, Sept. 16, 2004 - 12:21 a.m.
Tyler Durden: "Listen up, maggots. You are not special. You are not a beautiful or unique snowflake. You're the same decaying organic matter as everything else." -- Fight Club.

t.

That's good .. I think? :D
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004 - 12:56 a.m.
Me: i think david is having (friend) over Sat morning but that won't affect us
T: hmm yes it will.....I don't want (friend) hearing us having wild sex
T: I'm fine with traumatising your child for life.. not someone elses

t.

Sibling Celebration
Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004 - 7:29 p.m.
It's my brother's birthday today. Adam turned 35 which is SO OLD! We were close when we were younger ... we lived with my grandparents for about 4 years after my mother got divorced and it wasn't always easy coping with my grandmother. We used to play stupid games in the garden and entertain ourselves for hours. He is a very shy person and I think we were each other's best friend for many years.

When we came to Australia in 1985 he went into middle high school and found it extremely difficult to make friends due to his shyness and being an immigrant. He latched onto a young guy nicknamed "Fabs". They did everything together due to their common interests of computers and role playing games. They helped each other cope with high school and then remained close afterwards.

When I met Wayne (David's father) my brother hated him from the very beginning. Adam said to me: "As long as you are with him I don't want any contact with you". 13 years later I contacted him and said "he's dead". Adam burst into a rendition of "Ding Dong the Witch is Dead" and we have now slowly started to rebuild a relationship and saw each other earlier this year.

He has had it tough. Dropped out of Uni 6 months before the end due to some female lecturer he fell in love with. Then at 29 his best friend Fabs rang him to say that he had cancer. Here was a perfect catholic boy, never smoked, never drank and rumoured to be a virgin ... dying of lung cancer. Diagnosis to death was 6 weeks. Adam rang Fabs in the morning and said "We're driving up to Brisbane to see you, we'll be there in 9 hours". Fabs hung up the phone, told his Mother that Adam was coming to see him, closed his eyes, and died. I didn't go to the funeral (I was still with Wayne) but apparently Adam was completely distraught. Even now I ring him on Fab's anniversary. I don't think my brother is gay but he and Fab's were still soul mates.

He now lives with a friend's Mother as a boarder and has been accepted into their family. He is Godfather to their three children which he absolutely adores.

Up until the middle of this year, he worked for a subsidiary company of NASA. Lockheed Martin has a space station at Uralla in NSW where Adam lives. He used to call himself a "Satellite Parking Attendant" because he would work on missions which would accept satellites from NASA when they entered the Southern Hemisphere and then park them somewhere in space away from space junk and gravitational forces. He has recently returned to Uni to study and I really hope he makes it this time.

My brother has two major faults. He is incredibly stubborn and he's an intellectual snob. He constantly sees me as intellectually inferior with comments such as "Oh I'm studying a REAL IT degree" or "Whats the point of knowing databases when no-one uses them?" Apart from being rude and hurtful comments they're also blatantly incorrect. I am constantly caught between correcting him (knowing he'll never admit he was wrong) and just swallowing my irritation to keep the peace (which I don't do with anyone else).

It's one of those situations where if they weren't your family, they wouldn't be in your life. But then I remember that I'm lucky to have a brother. David will probably always be an only child and whilst I can scratch around and find some good points about that, the bottom line is there is nothing better than having a childhood spent with a sibling. It teaches you social skills that can never be taught in school and also gives you a "partner-in-crime" for those stupid childhood pranks that we were perhaps too chicken to do alone.

Happy Birthday Adam. You are frustrating, stubborn, insensitive, brilliant, hilarious, kind and you hold a title that no-one else in the whole world can claim ... you are my brother.

t.