Life Goes On

wrrd
Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 - 11:03 p.m.
This is fun!

t.

Silicon Valley is Waiting
Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 - 12:52 a.m.
T: did you download that cpuid utility?
Me: I thought it was CUPID
Me: stop laughing
T: ROFL
T: no no CPU - ID as in Central Processing Unit IDentification
Me: is that as romantic as a geek gets.. sending me a CPUID file?
T: yeah

t.

I should exercise this more often
Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004 - 11:37 a.m.
"Be courteous to all, but intimate with few, and let those few be well tried before you give them your confidence. True friendship is a plant of slow growth, and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity before it is entitled to the appellation."
-- George Washington

t.

Empathy to a Fellow Sufferer
Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2004 - 3:20 p.m.
This afternoon I watched Four Corners which told the story of Jayson Dalton - a Brisbane father who took the lives of his two children and himself earlier this year.

Watching the documentary was like reviewing my life with Wayne, but thankfully with a different ending. The doubts before marriage, the family estrangement, the violence and forgiveness, the kidnapping, the Family Court rigmarole, waiting at the Police Station for the return of the child.

It made me realise how close I came to having a different ending to my story. Dionne Dalton, the Mother of the two deceased children, continues to exist but without purpose. What is it about the universe that allowed David and I to be happy and instead took all Dionne's happiness away?

The scariest thing about it all is that he seemed like a "normal" person when I met him. He seemed loving and caring and thoughtful. There were only small, seemingly unimportant alarms which I ignored for three years and by the time I realised where I was it took a further seven years to untangle myself and had it not been for his death I would still be stuck in his web of control.

Out of the night that covers me
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever Gods may be
for my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance,
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance,
my head has been bloodied, but unbowed.

It matters not how strait the gate,
nor how charged with punishment the scroll,
I am the master of my fate
and the captain of my soul.


William Ernest Henley, "Invictus"

t.

Balls or Bells?
Monday, Aug. 16, 2004 - 2:48 p.m.
The Channel Seven show Surprise Wedding is back. It involves boyfriends being lured to the studio believing they're there for a makeover when in actual fact their girlfriends propose to them on camera and, if they accept, get married right away.

This idea horrifies me! Not because we film it and watch it, but just the audacity of the women! How fucking dare they castrate their boyfriends by giving them a choice between forced marriage or public humiliation (or a bit of both?). What sort of marriage are they destined for where she snaps her fingers and he obeys?

Of course I'll watch it! Of course Channel 7 will get heaps of advertising dollar for the timeslot! But when we've finished laughing at them and Channel Seven banks their money there will be a couple of men without their balls.

I heard Goldie Hawn say something very interesting today on Oprah. If more women were financially secure, had the skills to earn and manage their own money and were able to provide a solid financial base for themselves then there would be fewer marriages. At first I agreed with this, considering that I have never relied on a man for money and expect to always support myself. But then it occurred to me ... is our newfound financial independence and hunger to support ourselves just a more subtle way of castrating men? Are we simply taking away from them the one thing that they were traditionally good at doing? I dunno. I've always regarded my financial independence as a means to share time with a male for no other purpose but to have fun and be friends. If he chooses to buy me little things here and there to show his enjoyment of my company then that's v. cool, but if he decides not to then my rent and bills are still paid.

t.