Life Goes On

S is the Evil Word
Friday, Jun. 11, 2004 - 9:32 a.m.
I guess this is something that should be on a list of "100 things you didn't know about me" but I don't have one of those yet so I'll tell you anyway.

Not many people know that I am highly arachnophobic. I generally don't tell people because knowledge is power and arachnids are perhaps the one thing that will bring me to my knees and weaken me to the point of complete destruction quicker than anything else. I made the mistake of telling someone this once and he chose to use it against me. I have since repressed the exact details of the two incidents that followed, but suffice to say they were horrible situations that still invoke goosebumps as I type this.

I can't even TYPE the S word, hence the use of the word arachnids. A couple of weeks ago a friend send me an email with a photo attachment about a camel S that the troops in Iraq encounter. Well thank fuck I read the email first because I didn't open the attachment. She didn't know and has since apologised.

I was reading Who magazine yesterday and as I turned the page there was a picture of an S on the new page. I threw the magazine down on the floor and shut my eyes quickly. I had to put my head down and breathe deeply, focusing on something else. I realised I had to do something with the magazine so i grabbed a facecloth from the clean wash basket, flipped the page and threw the facecloth over the picture. Ironically, it was a story about a guy who overcame arachnophobia and now works in the S enclosure at Taronga Zoo. I still get the shakes when I have to pick that magazine up and will probably carry it by the corner and put it in the outside garbage, unfinished, before the end of the day.

My Mother tells me that when I was a baby she had my pram under a tree and an S fell from the tree and dropped onto my face. According to her it didn't bite me or anything but I guess the shock of that would be enough.

I live in a fully screened unit where every window and every door has flyscreen on it. I always have fly spray in my house. When I was in my senior year at high school, I used to spray my room every night before going to bed and then sleep with the windows and doors sealed shut. My Mother eventually got me out of that habit because I had constant headaches.

I guess it's improving slightly - I can now kill a daddy long legs, or spray one as big as a five cent piece, but anything bigger than that and I'm wiped out. I guess everyone has their achilles heel.

t.

My friends love me! <3
Friday, Jun. 11, 2004 - 9:30 a.m.
Me: Okay.. so you were both right and I was wrong and next time I get all stupid and insecure just slap me okay?

Paulette: I'll do more than slap you I'll kick your fuckin arse into tomorrow!!!!!!!!!

t.

Rich Thins
Thursday, Jun. 10, 2004 - 4:18 p.m.
"The poor are fat because they cant actually afford to be thin. Sad, isn't it? "

Thanks to themarassa for this.

t.

* Yawn *
Wednesday, Jun. 09, 2004 - 10:44 p.m.
Big Day Today starting with a meeting at 8am at David's school. I usually don't get out of bed until 8am so that was a tough start. I then took him to his psychiatrist appointment. He went to this same doctor 12 months ago when he was diagnosed but I decided to take him back to talk about recent events (Wayne's death, school issues). David responded well to the doctor and will now see him fortnightly (14 days). I truly hope that this will help him work through some of his depression. I need all the shit sorted out before he hits puberty because it will only get worse!

I bought myself a new office chair! They were on sale and a friend bought one so I thought I would too. I've used the old squeaky one for over three years so David can inherit it and I will enjoy the luxury! I spend so much time in front of my pc with my studies that I need to be comfy. Problem is, it now seems too big in my lounge (where my computer is) so I may need to consider a move of the computer into my room. Another project for the holidays.

So then this afternoon I picked up Corey from school and waited until Paulette picked him up and then I went to Clare's for dinner. We haven't caught up for ages - just by occasional email or sms - so it was great to hear all her gossip, see her new book (I wanna read it!), get some advice, update her on my life and also see David playing well with her boys (which he wasn't doing two weeks ago). Home, put child to bed, check email, update diary, bed. Good night.

t.

My Life as a Risk
Wednesday, Jun. 09, 2004 - 9:58 p.m.
"We are all who we are but it is the people we meet and the souls we connect with who help to shape us as we move through life."

Thankyou Jason 75.

This certainly supports the idea of 'be yourself' which is oft preached but seldom reached. Choosing to remain an island separated from a mainland of emotion is an option. No-one can say you can't do it? If we choose to seclude ourselves from feeling and participating in life with others then we will continue to exist. People that we encounter are only ever acquaintances and we interact with them on a "needs" basis.

Thing is, once we stop the tough act and acknowledge the amazing collection of people that pass our way through life, our souls begin to swell like a saturated sponge. We move from existence to living to embracing and loving life.

Sometimes, I meet people who have no affect on my life.

Other times, I meet people who stay for a short period of time and we usually teach each other something about life (good or bad). I will always remember the lesson, but I sometimes forget their name.

Finally, there are those people that I meet who remain with me forever. Whether I see them every day, once a year or never again they still have a permanent set of fingerprints on my soul. I let them do that. These are the experiences that mould my decisions and future choices. I guess all I can hope for is that whenever I leave my touch on another's soul, I am remembered as a positive experience.

t.

I'd Watch
Wednesday, Jun. 09, 2004 - 12:27 a.m.
"Whoever decided to take the pain and misery of low self-esteem, self-loathing and a desperate need for a partner's approval and affection, and then glorify it as 'romantic love' should be taken outside and forcefed heart-shaped chocolates until dead."

Thanks to janir.

t.

It's always a good time for Princess Bashing
Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004 - 11:45 p.m.
Girl: You need to get in touch with your feminine side
Guy: Oh, you mean act spoilt, fuck without remorse, and lead people on whom i have no intention of sleeping with?

Thanks to Spic for this!

t.

Date #2
Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004 - 3:28 p.m.
Now THIS is exciting! Remember how a couple of months ago I had my first date in three years. I really didn't want to go but I did and it turned out to be "nice" - not horrendous but not worth repeating.

Well... I am going on a date with T! How exciting is that?! We are going out on Saturday night and I am really looking forward to it. I have already contacted Clare (fashionista extrodinaire) so that I can find something in my wardrobe which doesn't immediately scream * Uni student *.

t.