Life Goes On

* Nods *
Monday, May. 31, 2004 - 4:53 p.m.
"54. One of the greatest lessons that my mother taught me is typified by this Spanish �dicho�: Mejor sola, que mal acompa�ada. (�Better to be alone, than with the wrong company.�)"

Thanks to Anonadada.

t.

More Money means more Banks
Monday, May. 31, 2004 - 12:50 p.m.
Life is getting busy. Got a call this morning from one of my previous students asking me to do some consultancy database work for his company. I'm going out there for a prelim meeting on Wednesday. Then, my old temp agency rang and said that my old workplace, Logan Waste Services, wanted me to do consultancy for them to fix up their database. I recently went to their Christmas Party and I get on really well with the Senior Supervisor - we used to laugh all the time! I'm having a prelim meeting with them next week to work out payrate and how many days I can work after my exams.

With these two databases plus the teaching I'm contracted to do next semester I am feeling more confident about my ability to get work when I finish my degree. It was hard to leave fulltime work to do fulltime study but I think I made the right decision.

My computer guy came around today to remove a virus from David's computer. He is a smoker and I said it was fine for him to smoke while he was here. When I returned home from town this morning, the disgusting stench in my house was unbelievable! He only had two smokes but still I nearly gagged when I walked in the door. It is horrible to think that not only did my house smell like that, but I did too! Ewwwwww....

I've forgotten how much I hate banks. I have been inside a bank three times in 6 months and all those visits were for friends who work fulltime and can't make it into the branch. I went in today for Paulette and waited and waited and waited. It's crap how they can justify having two tellers serving, with another 4 chatting, when there is a long queue. "You've taken twenty minutes of my life, and I want them back." I have internet banking and it is a dream. Fair enough, last week it was down for three days which was inconvenient but at least I was waiting in my own home. t.

Greggles Remembers
Sunday, May. 30, 2004 - 7:48 p.m.
Today we finally ended our laziness streak and went for a walk to Blockbuster to get another Gamecube game for David. It is a really lovely walk through a park with ducks in the water. We don't feed them anymore because bread is apparently McDonalds for ducks, but we can at least stop and appreciate them.

We were walking home when we bumped into a guy that I affectionately call "Greggles!". He is 19 and we've known him for around 5 years. Greg used to be best friends with Travis, my 19yo stepson. Greg would spend many nights over at our place and would come with us on camping trips and fishing expeditions.

David has bumped into Greg a couple of times on the way home from school so I knew he lived in the area, but they never exchanged contact details.

Greg hadn't heard about Wayne and he was pretty shocked when I told him. We talked a bit about him, how it happened, what we remember. I told Greg my address and he said that he knew exactly where I lived because Wayne used to drag Travis and him around to spy on and stalk my place at night. Greg said that Travis and him were so bored, but Wayne insisted they wait in the car while he watched my place. What exactly he expected to see, I'm still not sure. I knew this was happening, but to actually hear Greg tell me was a reminder of how difficult life used to be.

I gave Greg my number and told him he's welcome to call to talk about Wayne or anything else. I always got on well with him - he was the first of Travis' friends to call me MILF! He is so fantastic with David - listens to him, plays with him, takes the time to ask him questions. I would really like Greg to call and make arrangements to come over some time. David doesn't get to see Travis (or his other half brother Darel) at all so it would be great for him to spend some time with Greg. I also suggested to Greg that he might like to earn some money babysitting David so that I can go out occasionally.

My funniest memory of Greg was on one of our camping trips to Sandy Hook (near Bundaberg). There was a kids playground near our camp. One night, we were sitting next to the large camp fire under the stars and Greg decided he would try out the kids springy see saw. So he stands up on the end of it, bending over to hold the handles, and starts to bounce up and down. Next minute, his hands slipped and he went face first into the see-saw! It was SO funny. He was bleeding from his nose and his mouth but luckily nothing was broken. All four boys and two parents laughed so hard. Greg mentioned that today, and we laughed about it, but I could see that he was fighting back the tears when he said "I guess we won't be going camping at Sandy Hook again".

t.

Lazy Sunday Afternoon
Sunday, May. 30, 2004 - 1:33 p.m.
Don't you love lazy Sundays? David and I woke up this morning, around 8.30am. We put the heaters on (it's Winter here in Oz), turned our computers on, found the Video Hits channel.

I have: worked on Uni assignments (actually making progress for a change); chatted to some friends on Messenger; put dinner on; made jelly for dessert. We have been in our pj's all day, except for a short trip to Blockbuster to get a Gamecube game where we dressed in street clothes and then changed back into pj's when we got back!

David has: played Warcraft III, made scripting changes to Dungeon Keeper, played Nintendo, watched TV and bugged me! :D

Sure, sometimes I like to make an effort and trapse off to the museum, or the art gallery, or to the park, or to feed ducks, or to the markets, or to visit friends. They're all fun activities but lazy Sundays at home are just what I need the weekend before six assignments are due.

t.

Flattery is off the agenda
Sunday, May. 30, 2004 - 9:32 a.m.
Me to David: "Who's the best Mummy in the world?" (obviously seeking a compliment!)

David: "Tutankhamen"

t.

Scrumptious Subway and Yummy T
Saturday, May. 29, 2004 - 7:52 p.m.
Great weekend so far. T came over last night (Friday) after David had gone to bed and I was online with Clare. We had a great night and then I dropped David off at Paulette's this morning and spent the day with T. We hung out at my place, did some "stuff", he made some modifications to David's computer which David really appreciated and then T bought me Subway!

I am not used to a male buying me lunch... or anything for that matter. At the time I thought it was the first time that a male had bought me lunch but then I remembered an ex-boyfriend used to buy me lunch when we were dating, but that was over 10 years ago!

It was SO much fun for two reasons! Firstly, I could have a footlong subway AND a drink AND THREE cookies!! Usually I have to choose between those things. Secondly, T made it clear before we left my place that I didn't need to take my purse with me and that was SO new, SO weird but it made me feel really appreciated.

He is such a gentleman but in no way boring! He is cheeky, confident, intelligent, funny (ha-ha not weird ;)), chivalrous and.. um.. what was the other really important thing I'm not mentioning... (thinking thinking thinking) .. oh yeah.. he's great in bed!!!

So as you can imagine my weekend is going well. My son is completely absorbed with his pc modifications and I'm about the finish an assignment. After that, only 4 to go. YAY!

t.